Florid Yawp Welkin

florid yawp welkinMy face is not especially florid this Monday morning,  though my pen name did have a busy weekend of living it up that I may write it down.  (A nod here to Jack Fritscher– the cop with the body of an NFL linebacker could easily play Kick if they ever do a movie of Some Dance To Remember.)  I find myself today feeling grateful that I am retired and have the week off to recover from the weekend,  which was at times so pleasurable and euphoric that I was almost afraid I might lose all sense of gravity and float away into the welkin in a state of pure bliss.

I fear whatever I put down here today will be a yawp that fails to reach comprehensibility let alone eloquence.   Sometimes it seems as though there is just so much noise in the world.   And today I find myself thinking about sounds that are so totally human but do not involve words.    From a newborn babe’s first cry to a dying old woman’s last gasp it occurs to me that there are a great many non-verbal noises we can make over the course of our lives.   These non-verbal sounds can at times be much more eloquent than words and may in fact convey meanings that are somehow beyond that which can be conveyed with mere syllables of grammar.    Perhaps those sounds of great passion or great pain have an eloquence of their own that is also beyond words.

In the album Pyramid, The Alan Parsons Project famously sang the old maxim that ‘what goes up, must come down’,  and having spent the weekend way up there I begin the week feeling as though I have come way down from those heights I scaled on Friday and Saturday.   I’m reading my friend Susan Wells Bennett’s new novel Just One Note  (it’s fantastic by the way) and trying to get my tablet to download the copy of Some Dance To Remember I bought on a whim when I looked it up to put in the link above.    I find myself looking forward to Fritscher’s magical version of San Francisco once I finish Susan’s wonderfully imaginative tale about the many ways one woman’s life can turn out.    These three words were among the oldest in my drafts folder and I’m afraid I haven’t a clue who suggested them to me.   But whomever you are,  I do thank you.

8 comments on “Florid Yawp Welkin

  1. I love your expression of what a wonderful weekend you had. It makes me think your life is quite satisfying, and at the end of the day, I think that’s what we all hope to achieve. Thanks for sharing.

    • Terri, most days I feel like the luckiest man alive. I am doing just exactly what I want to do, I have a family that loves and cares for me and while I’m pushing 50 I have more fun than any of the 20- and 30- somethings I know.

Leave a Reply

