Dinosaur Apples Mercedes

chayote squash

Fun has long been my primary motivation for publishing this blog and participating in all sorts of social media.      And when it really stopped being fun I had to just take a break.    I am genuinely more grateful than I can ever express to each and every visitor who has left a comment for me on this site.   I really, really value the comments I receive and the real joy for me is all of the conversations I’ve had in the comments on different posts.   I admit that sometimes I try very hard to make my posts comment-worthy,   ending them with a provocative question  to the reader,  that often times does get a number of different people to share their reply.     And I really have been amazed at the many wonderful discussions that have taken place.

I am re-visiting the use of Empire Avenue missions to draw comments to these posts.     I had saved up my daily income for four days to be able to offer a 25K comment mission.     Only to have eight people take the eaves and not leave a comment.    And then one of them sent me a flame on Facebook.     I really don’t like feeling ripped off and getting into flames and acrimony with people I don’t even know.  That just is not how I want to spend my time and energy online.   I would so much rather talk about cooking mirlitons.     In many parts of the world this hard, delicate squash is known as a chayote,  but in Louisiana they are called mirlitons.     They are a bit of a chore to fix.    You start by boiling them (whole and unpeeled) for an hour or two,   until they can be easily sliced in half.    Let them cool and then remove the seeds at the center of each.    Make sure you get out all of the seed which may have a thick outer layer that tries to get left behind.    Dice the mirlitons and set aside.     Meanwhile,  chop two onions, one bell pepper and one bunch scallions or green onions.   Also chop up about a cup of diced ham.

Saute the onions in a bit of butter and oil,   then add the mirlitons and the ham.    Saute on medium heat for 1–2 hours,   until the mirliton is very soft.    Season with salt and peppper and add a cup or so of panko breadcrumbs.    Turn into a casserole dish and bake covered for 90–120 minutes.   Uncover and bake an additional fifteen minutes.    Allow the casserole to cool a bit before serving.    The mirlitons have such a light, delicate flavor it is always a treat to make this.    I apologize that I have done nothing whatsoever to incorporate apples or dinosaurs or a woman named Mercedes into this post.      I am trying real hard today to keep my focus on having fun with my blog and meeting people and making friends.     I resolve not to worry even a tiny little bit  about who does or does not comment on this post.     And to seriously consider if perhaps my friend was right when she suggested I was maybe taking the whole Empire Avenue thing Way too seriously.

19 comments on “Dinosaur Apples Mercedes

  1. I know what you mean about mission eaves. Most of the time I’m satisfied with my hit rate, but every now and then the thieves run amok in the hood. Not much you can do about it really. This recipe is making me hungry 🙂

    • I agree with Catherine. I have thought for long and hard and still cannot come up with an answer as to why there are mission thieves doing what they do. A week ago i did a mission as simple as “Just hit the like button” It was a scenic picture that’s all and still despite the mission giver specifying the mission is for 50 people there weren’t even 20 likes and it said only 5 remaining on the mission page. And i hope i am not an offender 🙂

  2. Like it says in the Gita Do your Job with happiness and pride. Don’t look for the results. Do not take the negative people and/or thoughts to heart. Cheers. Whenever I’ve read your blog i have enjoyed the posts. Sometimes i do not do missions of yours simply because i am not good in commenting on a lot of things. Hope you understand.

  3. I enjoyed reading your post and button danced to share it across my platforms for you today, Alan.. Just between us, I must confess that I have become somewhat of a dinosaur myself when it comes to eating apples and driving the Mercedes that has been sitting in my garage.:D

  4. Hi Libdrone. I’m so glad you’re back on board. I enjoy your posts so much. Mission thieves are a great disappointment. I’ve commented about this myself many times. It seems there is a wide variation of opinion on EA as to how to handle this, if at all. Some feel that it’s all to be expected, part of the cost of running missions on EA, and not to be worried about. There are many who run missions with considerably higher payouts than I do, and many of these are doing so for philanthropic purposes. These people are working hard to earn their eaves to set up their missions, and they’re trying to achieve a specific outcome. It must be terribly disappointing if not distressing to some. I’ve learned a lot from those who have a more forgiving attitude, but personally I would like to see a way of either preventing or dealing with those who steal hard-earned eaves from missions that have been set up with the intention of achieving a useful outcome.

    • I’ve certainly encountered the same wide variation of opinion on how to deal with mission thieves. I honestly think that some kind of trustworthy service that reported the thieves so honest people could block them might be something worth doing. But it is definitely not something I want to do. Thanks so much for being part of my positive circle, Mark.

  5. I have heard of mirlitons, but never sampled them. From the description I had thought they were something like a parsnip or turnip. The recipe sounds good, may have to give it a try!

  6. I have heard of mirlitons before, but never sampled them. From the description I heard it seems they are a lot like turnips or parsnips. Recipe sounds good, will have to give it a try if I can find them.

  7. Good morning, Alan! I’m glad you’ve come around to realize life’s just too short for that sh**. 😉 Remember the mantra: “It’s a GAME.” Anything that’s not fun anymore and isn’t paying your actual bills should seriously be reconsidered as something you don’t need in your life. Even work should be fun; if you can’t at least FIND the fun in it, you should look for something else to do, if at all possible. Miserable people are their own punishment.

    And I empathize with you regarding the cheaters who take the eaves and run, but we have to let it go – naturally, it’s going to influence our opinions of people outside the game, just as certain Presidents’ ability to control their sexual urges influences peoples opinions of whether they can lead a country – while others argue that it just makes them lousy husbands. But I do draw a line at people chasing you over to Facebook to flame you (unless it’s about that conversation you and I had, which you vaguely and obliquely reference here – in which case, “Told you that would happen.” 🙂 ).

    I love this morning’s background image!! And thank you for mentioning me kindly – it’s been far, far too long since I visited here and left you comments, and for that, I truly apologize! (Then again, you’re one of the few people who understands how spreading yourself like peanut butter REALLY works… I’ve been… napping. And catching up on other areas of life!)

    • Holly, I definitely know what you mean about spreading yourself around like peanut butter. It really is hard to keep up with a whole bunch of different blogs all the time. I have been a bit disappointed that you seem to be on a hiatus, after starting off the new year so strong. But a part of me is just a little relieved to have that much less to read and respond to. Hope your new year is going well, Holly.

Leave a Reply

