Scapula Pate Cordwainer

cordwainer

This time it was the shoes that saved me.    As once before when the pictures from my image search were quite unusable until I came across a bat flower plant on a Goth blog that gave me an image,  this time the classic stylings of Cordwainer brand shoes  provided an image that is dressy and distinctive.   And certainly more appealing than a plaster replica of a shoulder blade or a variety of the charcuterie that the word pate would be if you put an accent on the ‘e’.    I however chose to read the word as pate,  like the top of a bald man’s head,  rather than a very rich and filling cocktail food that I never make and have only rarely eaten.  (When I worked at a bookstore,  I hosted an autograph party for the ladies who wrote the Kosher Cajun Cookbook and the Kosher Creole Cookbook.    They brought a platter with pate and crackers,  and after the signing party was over,   they left the remains of the food with me.    I took it up to an office and had it for my lunch.   It was really delicious.   However by the time my shift ended at 5 or 6 in the evening my stomach positively ached from having eaten so much of that very rich food.

I put on my clerical hat and pasted most of last year’s 294 blog posts into a text document.    I still am very much up in the air about a title,   and definitely plan to edit out some of those 294 entries.   Though I believe that when I’ve edited out what I want to be rid of and added an introduction and an afterword it will be right around 100,000 words,  which I believe is a reasonable length for a book.    I am thinking that I will not attempt to include any of the comments on any of those posts  (I’ve had over 4,900 hundred comments since I first started this blog.)   I am thinking that the point of the book is to get my writing before new readers.   And the eBook will be well-linked to the blog and readers will be able to connect to the blog and see and participate in the discussions.    To be perfectly honest,   I decided that I really did not want to go through the process of  attempting to contact each commentator and secure permission to use their comments in a book.

I am deeply and genuinely embarrassed over the fact that although I talked about writing a new missions guide for Empire Avenue or a new missions section for my existing book Walking Down The Avenue,  literally all year long.  And never did publish an updated edition nor a new stand alone guide.    My knack for procrastination has been fully on display on this blog over the course of the past year.    There were in fact a fairly large number of posts that I am not whole heartedly proud of.    And yet,  it seems to me that it has throughout this year been that it was the combination of so many different themes,  from suffering bi-polar disorder to navigating the health care system to blogging,  social networking  and a number of other peculiar personal interests that has made this blog work.    Pasting from WordPress to word processor leaves very messy copy that will have to be gone over with a fine tooth comb  prior to publication.  (Plenty of time to make a decision about title and what supplementary materials to add to the actual blog posts.)

And finally today,   many thanks to my friend  Laura Sykes for suggesting today’s words.

4 comments on “Scapula Pate Cordwainer

  1. My dear Alan, for the new year I have this request…consider the positive a bit more worry less about the other. You are a fine writer, and you produced much work that would make anyone proud. Your support of so many other writers provides us encouragement that we need to keep pounding the keyboards. Keep a bit of that positive energy that you share with others for yourself. This is going to be a great year when we all accomplish much!

    By the way, I don’t envy the editing job that you face…Back in my youth, I converted a ton of WordPerfect documents into Word. Thinking about that gives me a headache that may need wine for a cure.

Leave a Reply

