Projectile Organic Matter

Vomit.    I have to admit that was the first thought I had when I read my friend Vince Pereillo‘s three words.   I feel certain that I have heard the term projectile vomiting and surely upchuck is organic matter.     Honestly, it was the thought of the image that made me feel certain I would have to pass on these three words.  I just could not imagine having an image of vomit on my blog.   At first it seemed as though there weren’t that many vomit pictures online.  (Although pictures of pumpkins vomiting up their seeds seem ubiquitous.)  Then I happened upon a site Rate My Vomit,  which seems to have hundreds of pukey pics,  and an interface borrowed from an old site called Hot Or Not,  which used to be trashy and fun,  but has since become respectable and boring.   What a relief to come upon this photo of an arrowhead,  a projectile mercifully unrelated to vomit.

I’ve found myself thinking a lot lately about the matter of how friends so often seem to just drift away.   Quite a number of folks who were faithful readers and commentators in the earlier months of this year have kind of just drifted away.   I know in some cases I no doubt lost readers who were dis-pleased by things I’ve said and done.    In my heart I also know that some of that drifting away has been due to my own failure to visit my friend’s blogs and leave lots of bread crumbs.      I find myself thinking that each post should have some kind of icon to distinguish between things I write when (as now I believe) I am depressed as opposed to things written when  I am manic.    When I’m down it seems I just don’t have the energy to go around leaving lots of great comments.    And one of the first lessons new bloggers learn about comments,  is that you have to give them generously in order to get them.   As challenging as my “Blog Every Day In 2012”  challenge has been in terms of writing and publishing posts,  I’m reminded once again that writing and publishing posts each day is at best only half of what makes for a successful blog.

Organic is a word that can mean a number of different things.   In a pricey grocery store,  it means the produce was grown without chemical fertilizers and insecticides.    In chemistry it means that the compound contains carbon.   But it also can refer to something being a part of an organ– not generally an organ like a heart or a gallbladder nor like a musical instrument,  but an organ in the sense of an organization such as a government or a society.   In that sense,  as someone who definitely sees himself as a lone ranger rather than an organization man,  I quietly today declare myself to be one hundred percent inorganic.

25 comments on “Projectile Organic Matter

  1. “I find myself thinking that each post should have some kind of icon to distinguish between things I write when (as now I believe) I am depressed as opposed to things written when I am manic.” What a COOL idea!! Hah – my blog, too, needs a “mood ring”! Love it.

    And I’m with you. My “depression” rarely takes the form of “sadness.” It is more of a general feeling summed up by “my give a damn’s busted” (a cheery little tune that never fails to make me feel better, by the way) and a complete lack of energy – sometimes to the point where one more keystroke might KILL me. Seriously.

    Eventually, the ennui gives way to outright boredom and disgust, and boredom usually leads to crawling out of my rut. Chocolate sometimes helps, but ironically, sugar does NOT.

    • Holly I honestly find that sometimes some things help and sometimes most things don’t. I am trying to learn to feel good about doing the best that I can do and not beat myself up that even the limited NaNoWriMo goal proved to be quite, quite beyond me. (Some other November I might be cruising on manic energy and do thirty daily posts no sweat. I do believe that I started out this project in January on an extended manic phase which greatly contributed to keeping up the every day thing for several months.)

  2. I love the thoughts at the beginning, and then turning to the arrowhead which brought thoughts of my home, Oklahoma, native Americans who really used arrows and for hunting food. My brothers and I used to collect them when we would go camping in the summer, seems we could always find a few of them, it was so much fun to find the real thing when you were a child. They were not to be feared as the Television or movies portrayed Native Americans. we lived side-by-side in Oklahoma with out any reservations. I did not understand what a reservation was until I was an adult, they were not something to grasp in my concept as a child. My teachers growing up were in scouting both in Boy Scouts and in Girl Scouts and they were Choctaw and Cherokee tribal leaders who would lead troops and teach us the ways of the tribe and nature. I love that you used the arrowhead Alan, it brought back so many wonderful memories for me.

    • Oh, I’m so glad Michelle. Growing up in Louisiana I never found any arrowheads when digging in the mud. And I have to admit that when I was growing up in the 1960’s and 70’s segregation was very much a reality where I lived. It wasn’t until I moved away that I got to really have experience with making and keeping black friends. Although today, in New Orleans while some of the older residents make hold segregationist beliefs in their hearts, being unable to work with and form relationships with people of other races would be a huge liability. Thanks so much for sharing your memories and inspiring a few for me 🙂

  3. Alan, I’d forgotten about the words… when I saw this I was wondering if you’d heard about my day, which mostly involved trying to duck projectile organic matter (though post-processed type, not vomit). Then I read the post, thanks for always finding a way to take three words and make something interesting out of them.

    • Thanks so much for being such a good friend, Vince. I think I may have enough three word pairs to make it through the end off the year, and I am undecided as yet if I will continue the Just Three Words meme in 2013. But I am so grateful to all of my friends who have suggested words and come back to read the results 🙂

    • I hear you. I was quite vehement in my determination that I would NOT post a vomit picture on this blog. (I did once post a picture of a large pile of animal excrement, but I doubt I would ever do that again.) And the site was disgusting enough I kind of HAD to link to it. Though I fear for some it will be what my friend Holly has called ‘what can’t be unseen’. If you’ve a Really strong stomach and are not easily offended, Google ‘split penis’.)

  4. your initial comment made me say “AHHA” in my head but I was thinking a mud fight – mud flying all over the place. I find it nearly impossible to devote daily time to do anything therefore I can sense many people drift away because of life demands. The will circle back when something cues their thoughts about you, your blog, etc.

    • Tom, I know you are absolutely right that time is one of the biggest reasons that people come and go. And when I started out the blog all year thing in January, a 1,000 eaves mission could easily draw 30 comments on an average post. These days 10,000 eaves often gets me no more than ten comments. My friends who have been on Empire Avenue for a couple of years mostly don’t do my missions any more not because we’re no longer friends, but because they no longer need the eaves so they rarely do any missions any more. (Just another reason I thought about.)

  5. A fairly gross topic, vomit that is. This instantly brought back a memory of being on a small plane flying from Riverton, Wy back to Denver over the Rockies. One person did the vomit thing which cause a chain reaction of vomiting by all. I am going out on the balcony to get a breadth of fresh air now.

    • I’m lucky that I’ve never gotten sick on an airplane flight, though I have flown a fair amount. I have on occasion seen a fellow passenger become ill, but luckily it has never spread to me. (I usually have a pretty strong stomach.)

      • I agree the title is a mouthful Holly, I have to say I would probably prefer vomit over barf, though most of the time I would be more likely to refer to the issue more euphemistically.

      • ::laughing:: You’re just going to let me get by with that? Okay, Alan.

        I’m never sure which word it was, anymore, that would trigger my mother to do the same: vomit or barf. I think it was vomit. That, and the whole second verse of “The worms crawl in, the worms crawl out…” Seriously, didn’t take much. The word “mucus” could do it, too. I was always surprised that “ficus” didn’t have the same effect.

        I am blissfully oblivious, most of the time, to this ability of certain words (or even visual images) to trigger the gag reflex. Smells could definitely do it, as can the SOUND of the act in question, but words and pictures? Nope. Kind of immune, there. Fortunately, my parents were rather tolerant of this – I mean, it can lead to some really awful dinner time conversations (if you’re susceptible to the power of such words and mental images). Like the time we were dining out with a former undertaker – I was about 12, I think, at the time – and I asked, “How do they embalm people?”

        My parents were so used to this they just shrugged and told him to go ahead, if it wouldn’t ruin HIS meal. And he proceeded to explain the whole process and answer all my questions. I’m pretty sure the folks at tables near us were not too happy with us.

  6. I have to admit that when I saw the words my first thought was of food poisoning. I am grateful that you discovered a different sort of organic projectile.

    Just this week I was asked by a nine year old why the Indians were so mean to the settlers. Getting her to understand ‘Native Americans’ and unfair treaties was quite an afternoon. After our discussion, I asked if she had any thing else. She told me, “Well I just think people shouldn’t be mean!” Seems like a perfect proposition to me.

  7. I must admit that that the first thought that popped into my mind when I saw the photograph at the top of the post was that Alan was blogging about parsnips. Given the addition of organic concepts later in the post, perhaps that first guess was not so far off the mark as would be supposed. Indeed, friends come and go in our lives. As with parsnips, friends too have their seasons.

  8. Pingback: Diarrhea Elbow Fart | Libdrone's Thoughts and Musings

Leave a Reply

