Explain Kibble Fantasy

So my friend Holly is in yet another blogging contest,  this time with a piece pondering idealism vs. pragmatism.     When I think about it,  I tend to believe that idealism and pragmatism are not in fact opposed,  but are actually two traits that most people balance most of the time.   I suspect that everyone has ideals,  which might alternatively be described as goals or perhaps even dreams.    Because it is Thanksgiving and I am feeling thankful for my online friends like Holly,  I decided to put up my first one million eaves mission today,  asking those who take the eaves to leave a comment on Holly’s blog post.  (If you’re on Empire Avenue, do take the eaves if you will comment on Holly’s post.)

I really can’t explain why I have been so reticent and have not posted to this blog at all in five days now.   Sometimes it seems there are thousands or millions of ideas and themes floating around out there,  and if only I were a sufficiently skilled writer I could tie one or all of them into most any theme,  including idealism vs. pragmatism.   Other times it seems as though I just can’t think of anything at all to say.   I know that my talent for writing (when at any rate I am in a frame of mind to write) is not a fantasy.   And yet all those many days when I simply don’t manage to write anything at all.

Kibble brings to mind dog food and indeed Wikipedia associates this word with both dog and cat food,  although it can also refer to chalk and flint rubble or to an iron bucket that is used in wells or mines for hauling water to the surface.     With all of these different definitions,  it seems to me that this might be perfect word for #definethis.   Certainly better than yahoo,  which is Merriam-Webster’s official word of the day.     I myself turned down a gracious invitation to go shopping with a friend this black Friday morning.    In truth,  I don’t really like crowds and the fact that I don’t have any disposable income left to spend this month makes the prospect of shopping rather very unappealing to me today.   Whether you are hitting the stores with the crowds or hanging close to home today,  here’s hoping it’s a wonderful Friday in your world.

And finally today,  my sincerest thanks to my friend Lindy Ireland,  who suggested today’s words.

 

15 comments on “Explain Kibble Fantasy

  1. Pingback: Explain Kibble Fantasy « Harold's Garden

  2. I am really intrigued by the bejeweled handcuffs that you chose as your image today. I am guess that the background image is Chess & Sweet Potato Pie. I love the picnic table cloth. Reminds me of big family gatherings from my childhood.

    I think I see the connection in the kibble meanings by considering the shapes; although that may just be a fantasy fed by my need to explain everything.

  3. Explaining a dogs’ kibble fantasy is much like explaining people’s fantasy with midnight shopping on Black Friday! I’m staying home, as I amm not fond of the crowds either. Have a great day!

  4. Ha, I had no idea what kibble meant. So definitely a good use for the #definethis hashtag… I prefer the crack cocaine meaning, although being English I should prefer the East Devon version. The handcuffs are presumably a reference to the crack cocaine meaning, which interestingly reminded me of another EA related blog post I saw this morning, about fashion and America’s top model.

    One thing that can be said for EA at least is that I definitely find things I wouldn’t normally!

  5. I think idealism keeps you going – makes goals attainable and helps get you through tough times and stress. Pragmatism just helps you get through your day and keeps money in the bank 🙂 Couldn’t agree more that most people employ both attitudes in some shape or form.

  6. Speaking of Black Friday… why is it black? is it because it puts the stores in the black? It puts me in the red. They should call it red Friday. If we still used money to buy things, they could call it “green” Friday. But nobody uses money anymore, just numbers on a statement.

  7. Speaking of Black Friday… why is it black? is it because it puts the stores in the black? It puts me in the red. They should call it red Friday. If we still used money to buy things, they could call it “green” Friday. But nobody uses money anymore, just numbers on a statement.

  8. I admit I had no idea what you’re talking about…. but I can’t focus anyway because of this cake … delicious… 🙂

  9. There are times in our lives when idealism is the right approach to the issues that arise. On the other hand, we have to sometimes be pragmatic in the application of our chosen solution, Not letting the perfect be the enemy of the good is one way to look at the possible solutions and their implementation. The chosen solution can always be improved toward the ideal over time.

Leave a Reply

