Tundra Undulate Reduction

Tombstone Mountains, Yukon. Photo by Tim Fitzharris in The Canadian Encyclopedia.

I can’t say I ever envisioned tundra being as pretty as this picture makes it look.   Somehow I thought of tundra as being a cold and featureless dessert.   The carpet of red flowers at the foothills of the mountains seem quite pretty to me.    I suppose that my block lists on Empire Avenue and Facebook are another sort of tundra.   A place where I banish people I don’t wish to interact with.    I had to block yet another 800 shareholder for stealing mission eaves today.

I well understand that some folks simply will not want to write a comment.   But when it’s clearly stated that that is what the mission is for,  is it unreasonable of me to take offense when someone claims my 10,000 eaves but doesn’t leave a comment as I asked?    I also blocked a 200 shareholder for the same reason.    And my share price,  which rolled at 0.00 and had climbed up to +0.03 on a few sales dropped down to -0.25.    Some days are just not fun.

I find myself thinking that my bi-polar disorder is rather like undulating between depression and elation,  with stops off along the way at lesser versions of those moods.  Sometimes,  it seems to me that writing these blog posts each day tends to make me more aware of my moods,  even though sometimes (or perhaps often) I’m not really sure what my mood is until I sit down to write about it.   And many times,  the very act of writing changes my mood.    Funny thing, the mind.

My acquaintance Karen Briggs,  who suggested today’s three words,  recently posted a very well-written rant about the sometimes mindless positivity with which some folks fill their Facebook streams. While I quite enjoyed her article,   I find that I can not agree with her that a positive attitude is not worth pursuing when one is going through a rough time.    While I know all to well that sometimes things can go very badly,   I also know from my own experience that a great deal of what we experience of life takes place in our minds.    And taking the time to tend to our mental images can pay off in huge rewards.    While I would never try to reduce a philosophy to a bumper sticker slogan,   I actually try rather hard to remember how important it is to visualize success and to focus on achieving goals,  even on day’s when it seems everything is shit.

44 comments on “Tundra Undulate Reduction

  1. Nothing wrong with visualization techniques — I’ve studied some sports psychology and I use positive visualization routinely at horse shows. I just think there’s a vast difference between visualizing yourself successfully jumping the final jump on a cross-country course, and visualizing yourself winning the lottery or establishing world peace. One is a finite and achievable goal, the other, fantasy you can’t force into reality merely by wishing it so.

    Thanks for the pingback!

  2. everything is shit, but you need shit to grow anything… ZEN. Enjoy the fun filled junk people like me post on our walls, we do it to brighten the everyone’s day. Next time I see something that is “for you” I’ll tag you when I share it (since we are FB friends)

    Have a GR8 day,
    Don

    • That is an interesting perspective, Don. And I certainly agree with it….in some ways and to some extent. And great about tagging me in something that seems relevant to me on FB. I actually love being tagged, even if it’s just someone stopping by my wall to say Hey, hello, how’s by you today? or some other conversational opener. FB is my primary network and I don’t usually like to be connected anywhere if we’re not connected on FB, though I’m sure I do have some relationships that are exclusive to other networks.

    • Lynn, it seems to me that everyone’s stream is different. And now that it is possible to simply uncheck the
      “Show In Stream” box under their profile pic, without any of the awkwardness of un-friending I enjoy tailoring my stream to display a combination of things that entertain, inform and inspire me in…..some combination or other. I mostly only unsubscribe to things that feel “toxic” to me. That’s a deliberately vague term that describes more the kinds of reactions from me I wish to avoid rather than any particular sort of content.

    • You know Chris, I sometimes think that while there are many, many different and unique places in this world, the really amazing part is how much so many different ones have in common with each other 🙂

  3. I notified shareholders of a mission eaves stealer. It was interesting to find out that most seemed to think that this was a bad move, tarnishing my own reputation, and that it’s better to accept eaves stealing as part of the cost running missions, and take no action in response.

    I worry, however, that such cheaters, unchecked, might eventually reduce EA into a tundra wasteland. They surely disappoint those who are running missions expecting a particular outcome. Many missions are run for extremely worthwhile philanthropic causes. Cheating, at the very least, is very much contrary to the social interaction and people helping other people that EA is supposed to be about. It’s certainly a pity that you had to go to so much extra effort in addition to having lost so many hard-earned eaves – usually earned by properly completing missions to help others – with no outcome for your mission.

    Obviously there is an undulating range of opinions about this, and the reducing effect that it has on EA.

    It is interesting to note – and I certainly resonate with this – your simultaneous endeavor to cultivate positive thoughts while acknowledging your disappointment and difficulty with certain things in life. I agree that it is not realistic to never feel disappointed, or even to take actions which some others might find negative. Presumably those who think that a “c’est la vie” attitude towards mission stealers and inaction in response would say that this is the best outworking of a more positive attitude to life. Perhaps they’re right. I think, however, that the disappointments and active response (which some might see as negative), while a struggle, are not necessarily contrary to trying to maintain a positive outlook.

    Thanks again for another inspiring article. I think I managed to use your words in my response!

    • Mark, I had actually set up a new site that was to be dedicated to identifying and linking (to their EAv, FB, Twitter etc profiles) confirmed mission thieves. I showed the site to a blogger I particularly like and respect and was genuinely surprised that she was horrified by the site idea and made a number of compelling arguments against going through with creating it as a public site. I was really surprised by her reaction, but I have since come to the conclusion that I don’t want to create would or could become a kind of credit bureau that players could consult to build useful block lists. If in fact you decide that you want to use blocking as a way of controlling who can take your mission eaves— I know that some players expressly do not wish to do so. Mission cheaters are toxic to me and when I find them in the course of my day, I will block them. But I don’t ever want to focus on them to the extent of creating a web site. If you or any of my other readers does, I would be happy to transfer http://eavgoniflist.com to you. It’s a WP.com blog, and the domain is paid for a year from whenever I started it.

  4. Pingback: Tundra Undulate Reduction « Laitom’s Blog

  5. Have you ever seen thing undulate that aren’t supposed to undulate? I first experienced an earthquake in 1978, when I saw the ground undulate. On reflection, this was a reduction of sort, leaving those who watched, helpless to the tendencies of nature.

    • I was at a doctor’s appointment at Virginia Mason in Seattle when we had a pretty big earthquake. The doorway of the examining room came loose from the wall and several cracks appeared. The doctor was a bit irked that I insisted he write me the prescription I had come for as we evacuated down the nearest stairwell. But I had taken off from work and paid my deductible and was not going to go away without my prescription 🙂

  6. Alan, your posts are so open and honest. You share the feelings of tundra that often invade your soul, but you recognize that the tundra holds a special beauty as well. It doesn’t do a person much good to dwell on the negatives in life, or the people who cause and even thrive on them. It’s best to not let those people or events control your life. Instead, take back the control of your own life and thoughts, and find the beauty in that raw and wild tundra within.

  7. EAv is an interesting game because there are so many choices that have so many different consequences. I have discovered that each player brings his/her own motives to the game, and that governs choices. I think share price might be the least interesting metric, but it is the most public; so we each consider it as we play. I think it is important as we undulate across EAv’s tundra that we do not allow a share price reduction to diminish the value of our connections.

    • Harold, you make an excellent and most relevant point that every player has different goals and makes many choices, which may or may not serve their particular goals. (It often seems to me that many folks are not very clear what their goals are, which makes it impossible to advise them well.) Share price is only one metric. It seems to me the relationship between a stock’s share price and it’s dividend pay out is more interesting. (The real hope in buying promising newbies is less that their dividends will be huge than that their dividends will be high for the price you paid for their shares.) And I certainly try not to let the eaves and game play interfere with any of the real relationships that I am cultivating.

    • Mmmmm. You may be correct about the equivalency of EAv and the meaning of life. Though I hope that when my musings turn EAv-ward that I am more Oscar Wilde than Monty Python 🙂

  8. My first mission was a bust – about 60% compliance. I learned from it – made my next mission easier and employed the “block user” feature too. I’ve only run a few missions so far – and am getting about 80% compliance now. I suppose the more my blocked list grows the better it will go.

    But it’s posts like this – where you can see who the real people are. I recognize many of those that left comments. These are the people we build relationships with. We don’t need mission eaves to build successful social media relationships. When I see these people online, I take time to see what they are doing… and like, comment, share. EA was a tool that introduced me to these people and it is an entertaining game. But life is more about relationships and less about strategy.

    Have a Blessed day 🙂

  9. My first mission did not go so well – a ten rewards video like resulting in 3 likes and 3 dislikes. I have done a few more missions and my blocked list is growing. I am getting about 80% compliance now. (would you like to see my blocked list? It’s tempting to post it here!)

    But EA is really just a tool to build relationships. The people that commented here are the real people. We get connected and see each others faces in our social media streams. We read each others content because we have come to somewhat know each other and care about each other. We interact – apart from eaves which are really quite meaningless.

    Life is about relationships – not strategy.

    • I agree with you that EAv can be a tool to form relationships. Though most of the social media gurus who use it seem to bill it more as a good way of gauging and measuring the social activity you do on other networks. For me, certainly, the real point is always the real conversations with other people– whether they take place on Facebook, Twitter, my blog, your blog or wherever. The eaves can be genuinely useful in creating real engagement. But the engagement must be real and compelling in and of itself for the eaves to really work in most cases.

  10. I assume The pic of the tundra was taken in the spring – the beginning of life after a long winter – a positive pic
    The EA issue plagues the game & a reason I have only run 1 mission. I do not fully understand EA nor do I want to.
    Finally, I find myself feeling alive when I am in a good mood – the darkness of anger only leaves me with feelings of guilt.
    Thanks for the mission. By the way, I enjoy #definethis

    • You’re likely correct about this picture being from the spring. (Honestly I am only assuming that the pictured are IS in fact tundra, since the picture came up on an image search for today’s word. That I have a real knack for posting spring and summer images when it’s cool and rainy fall outside is either my genius or my folly; I mostly hope that no one will ever tell me which.) My objective (on EAv, FB, this blog, etc) is to meet people and have fun and friendship with them online. The longer I am on EAv the less I tend to recommend it to most people who are online with MY objective.

  11. I know what you mean about mindless positivity, but I don’t think I could get through the day without it. I do admire atheists but I couldn’t live if I believed it was all pointless…a personal take, and not one for everyone, I realise!

    • Laura, I certainly don’t think that faith is ‘mindless’ and I certainly would never want to put myself into the position of judging Anyone’s faith. But an endless succession of pictures (even excellent pictures) and quotes……is just not my idea of socializing 🙂

      • You’re right, of course, Alan – my particular allergy is to cats in any shape or form, as I cannot see how they advance the cause of human happiness, but that’s just me. Also I am beginning to go off the landscapes in high technicolour, once you have seen one shocking pink field, you have seen them all!

      • And sometimes comments are impossible to respond to. It’s a feature, not a bug, but if you mouse over the orange quote box that appears next to the New Post button on the WP.com dashboard you can see a list of all your recent comments. (That the icon appears orange indicates that you have unread comments and/or comments pending Approval) And sometimes you read a fantastic comment and click on the reply button and a reply window opens right there in that temporary pop up overlay. If you write several sentences and post a clever reply to the clever reply, your copy may extend down so far that you find yourself wanting to scroll down in order to make the Button appear so that you can post your reply. And the moment you hit the scroll bar the cool pop up overlay disappears and your comment is gone with the wind. Any fool could make this mistake once. That I managed to make this mistake Three times while attempting to post a very clever reply to your truly witty comment says something I’m afraid about me, which really would have better been left unsaid. Perhaps _this_ is what Wayne was referring to when he mentioned “openness and honesty”. (/flame off)

  12. Internet is like a huge Ocean. The secret is to find some pearls in it. I found a few of them. One is your thoughs. It is just sad that they are not in german, so I could understand and share them better. Regards from Switzerland.

    • Tedora, I just want to say thank you very much, for making the effort to read me in English. I know that I probably will never be able to read German at all and I’m so pleased to have this chance to communicate with you. Thanks so much for reading and commenting here.

  13. I caught the phrase Sometimes Mindless Positivity. I hope you don’t mind but I’d like to borrow that phrase for use in a blog of my own. They are three words that don’t ordinarily go together but do provide cause for deep thought when assembled in this order. Thanks for another wonderful journey through a rhetorical wonderland.

  14. Before blocked someone you can send Private msg to complete the mission !! If not then you can do whatever you want. In fact there can have some technical issues like power or pc problems that can be failed to complete the mission !!

    • Mithu I do realize that tech problems (or as Vince mentioned brain farts) can sometimes stop people from completing missions. And I appreciate your reminding me that blocking should be saved for folks whose behavior is so egregious that it can’t be written off to a single instance of (possibly) technical difficulty.

  15. I have to say that mindless positivity is probably not anywhere near as useful as *mindful* positivity. If you can’t grab it and infuse yourself with it, it’s going to fade away and you’ll be no better off.

    I wrestle with the “cheating” thing. I don’t know that there is any right answer. But as for me, if I ever wind up with a brain fart (perhaps brought on by a phone call or other unexpected interruption) between hitting the blue button in EA and the “Post Comment” button here, please consider reminding me. I wouldn’t want us to stop interacting over a mere 10K eaves.

    • Vince, I completely agree. I very much appreciate the real friends who comment through these missions time and time again. And when someone I recognize as a regular visitor takes the money once and doesn’t come through….I do just send a little reminder and don’t worry about it. But someone I never interact with? Well, for me I think blocking them to stop it from happening again is best. And some days, like today…I gave out 20 sets of eaves and got 24 comments. I’m sure not going to bother checking the list today.

Leave a Reply

