Flowers Fall Rain

It’s been raining here in the Northwest the past few days.    Rain is definitely a sign of fall in these parts.   People sometimes say that we get six months of gray, rainy weather.   Though more often than not, it is merely humid and damp,  with gray skies and fairly little actual rain.   I look out and see that all of the leaves have turned and am a bit surprised to realize that Halloween has just passed and we are into the final two months of the year.

I am not really thinking much about these words today.   I am trying to choose between agon, beatitude and psychopomp,  which are respectively the Merriam-Webster,  Dictonary.com and Wordnik words of the day.   While it is obscure,  I found myself thinking that agon– which refers to a dramatic conflict– is somehow too short and simple a word for my #definethis game.    And while a beatitude is on the one hand,  simply a great blessing,  it is also a very Christian term,  referring of course to the sermon on the mount.   Psychopomp seems perhaps more suitable,   though I do wonder what my word nerd friends might find to tweet about a guide for spirits heading to the netherworld.

I have to confess I am just a tiny bit jealous of my friends who are starting up NaNoWriMo today.   I fear that fiction really isn’t my forte,  so I don’t think that I will try to write a 50,000 word novel this month,  cranking out 1667 words each day.   Honestly,  I am great at narrative and description but can’t write good dialog to save myself.   I am thinking of trying to really push myself to post to this blog every day in November,  which perhaps would be my own personal sort of NaNoWriMo.    On the other hand,  perhaps I should simply bite the bullet and try to start a fiction project.   The worst that could happen I suppose would be that I write something that’s not very good.    In which case I could just keep it to myself.

http://www.hometoindy.com/

38 comments on “Flowers Fall Rain

  1. Enjoyed the post – time has seemed to rush by this year. I am looking forward to my upcoming trip to the Pacific NW with my daughter to visit schools… Rain won’t keep us away! Cheers!

  2. Quite tropical here in Bangkok. We are technically over the rainy season, where it rained everyday for a few months, to maybe once a week.

    • How does the rainy season make you feel, Mika? Do you get really tired of the rain after awhile. Do you look forward to the rainy season when you are well into other seasons?

    • Thank you so much, Lindy. I think you and the other commentators are exactly right. I’m doing the writing I want to do right here. There really isn’t any reason to go off and focus on some other project that I don’t necessarily have the right talents for.

  3. Hmmm… Maybe a monster invading a school for deaf mutes. Or Empaths. Or Telepaths. Or deaf mute empathic telepaths. Then you don’t need dialogue 🙂

    I’m with Lindy though, you already have a great gig. If you pull the other one off, that’s great but you don’t need to beat yourself up if you can’t or won’t get it done, you’ve got us!!!!

    • Vince, I do believe you and other commentators are right. I enjoy writing these essays and I’m actually pretty good at it. Why not focus on doing what I love and not worry about another type of writing that I don’t really have a knack for. Sometimes….the best advice, is that which helps you to appreciate what you have rather than covet what you don’t. Which is to say, thank you 🙂

  4. If we get a day here without rain we are lucky This morning I woke up to find the mountains all covered in frost, a sign of things to come. I can’t help feeling sorry for the palms which suffered a harsh winter 2 years ago and are only just recovering!

    • There are many folks in this area who try to play up the gray rainy days to discourage more new comers. (It doesn’t work, but lots of folks still try 🙂 We actually get less rain here than, for instance, Chicago or Atlanta, but some folks do find the long stretches of damp and gray hard to live with. Gray days don’t bother me that much, and when it’s not gray it’s one of the most gorgeous spots on the planet.

    • “gray sky days” is a very good description of our weather here. We get a lot less actual rain than say Chicago or Atlanta. While it is most certainly an exaggeration to say that the sky is damp and gray from Haloween to Easter, there is more than enough truth in that description to fairly frequently cause people from “back east” to abandon the region after their first winter here 🙂

  5. Pingback: Flowers Fall Rain « Laitom’s Blog

  6. The flowers, particularly the roses, are in full bloom here, the rain is sparse (driest October in 43 years) it’s all falling on the East coast of the US, so autumn is a long way hence and just passing there as winter comes.

    • I know it is Spring in your part of the world, Tom. And I’m sorry to hear you’re having a bit of a drought in what should be a fairly wet season. I really do believe that global warming/climate change is a real issue. And it worries me that so few of the powers that be seem to be devoting anywhere near enough attention to it.

  7. Alan, the changes in the seasons reflect the changes in our lives. Sometimes, the words for those changes are short and sweet, while at other times, those words are compound and obscure. When writing in your personal seasons, perhaps a revival of the once highly regarded essay genre would suit your style and tastes. Fiction is not for every writer, and non-fiction may prove to be your truest writing form.

    • Wayne, I think you are absolutely right that essays and non-fiction are what I should completely focus on writing, because it is in those areas that I have the most talent to make the best contributions. I have long, long wanted to write fiction, but the fact is I’m really not nearly as good at crafting fiction as I am at crafting essays. Thanks so much for being a good friend.

  8. Alan, I remember learning in school that it is called the pathetic fallacy when there is a storm raging just as the heroine learns that her lover has run off with the milkmaid, or whatever. But I find that in real life it is not a fallacy at all. When it is grey and miserable, and the days are short, I feel down. (And vice versa). It is just that in literature the weather follows the events, whereas in real life, one’s mood follows the weather!

    • Well, dark damp weather is very common in this neck of the woods. Most of the time it does not bother me, and seems a small price to pay to be free of both the horribly hot weather my native Louisiana experiences at times and the snow stays piled up and it’s brutally cold for months on end of Massachusetts where I lived for a time. Honestly, I know if I ever managed to find the money to move to Hawaii I really wouldn’t want to be in the Islands all summer. Even in paradise, after a while the heat would get to me. I feel as though I am where I actually have belonged all along.

  9. The word order is a bit of a shame. I saw the words and thought rain, fall, flowers; as in April Showers bring May flowers.

    On rainy days, I find myself stuck inside and sometimes feel a bit blue or grumpy. I truly love the sun. Then we have weeks without rain, and everything outside turns brown. Instantly after a rain, everything seems to green up & bloom. That helps me remember that sometimes a temporary inconvenience is necessary for a greater good.

    • Part of me thinks it is wonderful that you can find a cheerful object lesson where another might bemoan the inconvenience and yet another might use the exact same weather events to worry about global warming 🙂

  10. Hi Libdrone, as a fellow inhabitant of the Pacific Northwest… sometimes we just have to live with the rain as a fact of life. Interesting words… I would suggest psychopomp as a theme for a fictional work. Look forward to future posts… cheers from Chilliwack, BC.

    • I am the sort of weird word nerd who really relishes that you are prompting me to look up psychopomp again, for at least the second or third time in as many weeks. I’m not sure I could imagine the plot of a pyschopomp novel, but will admit the idea is at least surface intriguing.

  11. The best advice I was ever given about writing is to just do it. Thinking about whether you should start or not will only stop you from actually producing words. So yeah, I recommend you lock yourself in a room and starting in on whatever project it turns out to be!

Leave a Reply

