16 cents

This is a post about Empire Avenue,  the social networking stock market game.   If you’re not on Empire Avenue and don’t want to be,   please go somewhere else today.    I was at 600/600 with the guy.   It appears we connected on Empire Avenue more than a year ago.   Not that I felt very connected.   He wasn’t following me on Twitter,  and I have no idea whether we might be Facebook friends.    But I don’t ever recall chatting with him,  and I can’t recall anything about the sort of content he might share.     When he took my 5,000 eaves but did not tweet as I asked in the mission,  I thought about it for a bit.   And blocked the mission cheater.    The forced refund of the 600 shares he owned set my share price back by 16 cents.   Which seemed a very small price to pay to insure that this guy,  whom I wasn’t really connected with,  can’t take my eaves while blowing me off socially.

I came to the realization this morning that I am on Empire Avenue to meet new people and socialize with new and old friends.    My blogging and social networking are done for my pleasure and Empire Avenue is mostly a place where I meet some great people  and get some (fairly rudimentary) feedback about how I’m doing on my blogs and social networks.    I definitely don’t want to re-arrange my social networking to benefit my Empire Avenue scores.   I just want to socialize.    So I find that I feel no guilt at all about disconnecting with someone I was never really connected with.     I suppose eventually I may check Facebook and see if I can free up another friend slot.   Or I might not,   and this gentleman will be just one more to be eliminated.   Some day,  when I get around to cleaning up my Facebook.   (Now that I can easily unsubscribe from content I don’t want to see without ever un-friending,  I have no interest in cleaning up my Facebook list.   At least not until I get a lot closer to the 5,000 friend hard limit.

I find myself thinking that you really do learn something new every day.     And that the people I actually talk with are far more important than anyone who owns my shares on Empire Avenue.

34 comments on “16 cents

  1. Totally agree with you Alan. If someone is only on EA for the “Yield” they are missing the boat. Engagement is what it is about. I personally like to write each of my shout outs and love to talk with my shareholders on FB, G+ and Twitter and connect on LinkedIn, but if they don’t then why be on it?
    I have made some wonderful friends over this past year from around the world. I would not change how I play or my posts just to help my EA score, but what I do find is that EA can help me publicize something easier by using a mission.

    Just as in life there are rude and obnoxious people, they are on EA as well. So when you find them, you do as you did. Sell or block, simple and move on.

  2. Reblogged this on CourageousDevotion and commented:
    For my readers who are Empire Avenue, this post will mean something, for those of you who are not, excuse this one for the day. From my friend Alan, who has a great point. Enjoy.

  3. I think it depends upon what you are on EA for. Are you playing a game, or using it as another Social Media tool. To pay for missions, you need to earn eaves. As with all things, there is a constraint. Spending eaves on missions means less investment, so less earnings. There needs to be a balance. I have connected with a number of people through EA, but whether this leads to mutual benefits, I await and see!

    • The trick is to invest wisely to create income, use the income partially to create missions that drive genuine engagement, use the income partially to re-invest. Lather, rinse and repeat continuously and eventually you can run huge missions every day. (I hae aquite a ways to go to get there.)

  4. I joined EA to play the game and enjoy the company of what I find are some great people. As it happens, these great people are experts in the emerging field of social media. I am able to question my daily directives, see cause and effects for various activities and learn for the experience of the game every single day.

    • There are some very sharp people showing all of us how to best do social media. I am genuinely thankful every day that I’ve been adopted by a little ‘gang’ of them 🙂

  5. Since I am still in the social media arena…..Empire Avenue is a learning experience on many levels. I do enjoy the interaction with shareholders from the shouts outs to the share buying. But no, I would not change my social network just for Empire Avenue as it is now. As a fact it has increased it dramatically and still growing.

    • You know, Jean, you make me realize all over again how many different levels there are to Empire Avenue and social networking. It’s rather a big part of why I so like being online. It’s constantly changing and growing and so are you when you participate.

  6. I have changed my SM practices because of EA. For me that was a large part of why I joined. My SM presence was rudimentary, and I hoped that EA would be a place where I could experiment and learn. I have.

    I am concerned that I have become invested in the game to my detriment. I have already done a couple of missions this morning that make me look forward to my shower. Mostly my fault, but I wished EA helped with that also.

    Your post makes me stop to reconsider my original goals; so I am grateful.

    • To tell you the truth, Harold, I almost never do missions any more, precisely because I really don’t like pollute my social streams with the sort of content that makes you want to shower and wash it all away. (I know just what you mean.) I tend to believe that for the most part, you need to be promoting reasonably good content (whether your own or someone else’s) to be able to reliably draw a social audience which has come to associate your name and image with good quality.

  7. Pingback: 16 cents « Purgly's Blog

  8. Thanks for your Thoughts! My mission on EA will be clear in the near Future! EA is a great place to connect but ofcourse you met also the wrong ones! never mind! In the near future I can tell you if EA is also a nice ‘tool’ to furthers steps on the SoMe 🙂

  9. I alter my social media behavior because of EA.

    1. Before, if I had time, I would’ve first checked FB. Today – I check EA.

    2. I sometimes do happen to tweet or put up fb updates, knowing that it would build my EA score.

    But no – I don’t publish things on my feeds because of EA unless I think it’s relevant for my audience – or I am genuinely passionate about it.

    • It sounds like you have your head on right about Social Media, Savio. Promoting quality content that your audience responds to is what makes your scores go up on all of the EAv measurements. With the very small number of networks I’ve connected to EAv one of my goals is to show that you can go so much farther concentrating on a handful of social networks that let you connect with Your audience, rather than by spreading yourself way too thin trying to keep up on an ever expanding list of sites and networks.

    • Oh, I definitely think it’s possible. The last few days, my divs have stayed over 1,00/day and my shares are selling sometimes literally faster than I can send a thank you note and buy b ack a few shares. I’ve actually worked really hard at building a community and developing relationships in ways I believe will help me to achieve greater success going forward. I don’t think I will ever be in the big leagues with the kind of folks who can social 2 or 3 dollars a day in divs…..but I assure you it takes an awful lot of social networking to pay out 1.00/day. Especially if you are firm on not spamming low quality content to your followers.

  10. I guess EA and the fun of ‘competing’ does tend to spur me on if I’m feeling a bit lax and lazy on any particular day. However… the need to stil offer quality content is still my primary motivation. EA has of course introduced me to many fantastic people :-).

    • IMHO Ric, you’ve just described the whole Social Media thing in the nutshell. It’s all about meeting great people and sharing quality content. It seems one of the hardest lessons for some beginners to learn is that there is no value in promoting low quality content.

  11. I spent my first 4 months on EA just building up my eaves and not bothering about running any missions for myself. I figured that while I was finding my feet about what I wanted to achieve I was getting to know a lot about the many different and often highly philanthropic things that others are trying to achieve, and help them with their goals, which was very rewarding for me.

    When I ran my first mission, the very first person just took the eaves and did not complete the mission. I waited for half an hour to make sure, then left a message for the eaves thief encouraging him to complete the mission. After 24 hours he had neither completed the mission nor replied to my message.

    I figured that it’s not just about me – there are a lot of others who run high reward missions that are trying to obtain an outcome, and would be highly disappointed. I therefore took the step of contacting all of his shareholders who were also my shareholders to inform them of this misdemeanour.

    I received a mix of responses, but for the most part those who responded seemed to think that it lessened my own image to take this action, and that it was best just to accept this behaviour as part of the cost of running EA missions. I was surprised by this reaction. Perhaps taking such action does diminish one’s own reputation. I thought, however, that not only is this behaviour not in the spirit of EA, but may very well lead to increasing disillusionment with what EA provides.

    Engagement with others, getting to them and their goals, assisting each other in our goals, forming relationships, are all considerably more important aspects of EA than building up eaves. I for one greatly appreciate the many things that I have learned about others and the relationships, albeit remote, that I have formed with them.

    • Mark, I have to confess that I encountered a very similar reaction to what you described. I was working on a new site that would publicize mission cheaters, sort of in the way credit bureaus sell listings to businesses of consumers who have been unscrupulous in paying their bills. So when I had it ready to test, I showed it to a friend. And she proceeded to list a whole bunch of reasons why I should Never publish the site. And she convinced me that it is definitely not for me. If you or anyone else thinks they might want to run it, just give a holler and I’d be happy to hand over the keys.

    • “…engaging with the is a waste of time, energy and your talent!”

      Laura, your insightful comments inevitably seem to leave me thinking that I should be helping You write a book rather than vice versa 🙂 I have been thinking about my plans for next year and am Definitely looking forward to being off of permanent every day blog duty 🙂

  12. EA is one of my most important social media tools I use to make my HP public. I am learning everday more how to use the social media most effective. EA is a very helpful measure of.

    Regards from Switzerland

    Tedora

    • Thanks so much for being such a good visitor and a good friend, Tedora. It really is getting to meet people like you that is what makes the time I spend on social media so worthwhile to me.

Leave a Reply

