Sponge Patter Birthday

A sponge will soak up water or most any other liquid.  But once it is full,  you’ll have to really squeeze it out to make it absorbent again.    Perhaps it is the same with my brain.   It turns out that what I thought (in yesterdday’s post) was a horrible new thing introduced by WP.com  was actually some kind of malware on my computer.   It’s certainly a relief to know that nothing is or even was really wrong with my site.    I am reminded again of the webmaster 101 lesson to always check your site on other computers to see it as other users will.    Sometimes it seems to me I really do end up learning some of the same lessons over and over.  I don’t know whether (as my friend Tiffany has suggested) that means that I am not quite grasping the correct lesson or if perhaps there really is a cyclical nature to life’s problems.

When I hear the word patter,  I think of ‘the patter of little feet’  used to describe children hurrying to the living room on  early Christmas morning,  hoping to catch of a glimpse of Santa Claus on the job.    I don’t really remember how old I was when I realized that Santa was just story and that parents buy all of the presents,  although I will timidly admit that I still do believe in Santa Claus.    And I always clap for Tinker Bell when I see Peter Pan.   Even if I have grown up.   At least sort of.

For some reason the word birthday has me thinking of my late huzband, Joel.    One year we went to Bucca di Beppo  (a rather unusual chain restaurant featuring family style Italian fare) and someone took a picture of him in those very decorated surroundings.    Joel later photoshopped a crown onto his head. It was a very good job of photoshopping and many were fooled that he was actually wearing a crown in the picture,  seated behind an elaborate candelabra and raising a toast like some king or emperor.   I really miss him.    My thanks today to Doug Wolfgram for suggesting the words and  Kelly-Jane whose sponge cake with jam and cream  provided today’s image.

22 comments on “Sponge Patter Birthday

  1. You reassure me – sort of – about Word Press as I had something very odd today, which is a ‘403’ message (I thought they only had 404 messages?) saying that I was not entitled to access my (own) blog. The internet was working fine, it did this on both Chrome and Firefox and then suddenly righted itself.
    Sorry to ramble on, but I have been wondering whether this is a manifestation of unusually high sunspot activity? Or it could be Martians, of course.

    In the circumstances, if I had heard pattering as well, my first thoughts would have been of the genus rattus rattus rather than of tiny humanoid tots’ tootsies. But that’s just me.

    I love the backdrop today, and don’t even feel the need to rush away as it is completely non-calorific!

    • Laura, your self-hosted WordPress is very different than my WP.com site, particularly that it can be set up such that you the user can wreck it rather much more badly than I could possibly wreck my site. Power users sometimes chafe under the restrictions that WP.com places on a site, and indeed you can not run scripts or sidebar or header advertising. (If you want a fee host that will let you do those things, try blogspot.com) I am not techno butch enough to tell you offhand the difference between a 403 and a 404 though the user experience is pretty much identical 🙂 I am not happy at the thought of the patter of little rat feet rather than little children’s feet.

  2. THX for the article and sharing your thoughts! There is always an empty space when losing a beloved one. A space that, lucky for us, will never be filled, so it can not be squeezed like a sponge. With warm regards, Ruud.

    • You’re right. When you lose someone you loved, the loss never goes away but it does somehow become more and more bearable as the years go by. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment, Ruud.

  3. I moved to sponge cake immediately with a patter of butter cream spread over my birthday cake (ok I took the liberty of using patter to enhance my point). I believe you remember all but some information is stored as inactive until something causes you to recall the bit of info.

  4. Your brain is a sponge that soaks up information and ideas; and then reshapes that information and ideas into new and exciting ways. The internal brain creativity works even when you are asleep or doing other things. Combined with your own experiences, the new knowledge combines into a synthesis of creativity. There is no need to wring it out. 🙂

    • That sounds so well and dandy in theory. But anyone who has ever forced themselves to write every day knows full well how sometimes it can take huge effort to wring out words that aren’t half as good as those that other times flow freely. Doing it consistently….takes more than the brain’s magic, it seems to me 🙂

  5. There is always a hole in your heart when someone you love is lost. No amount of sponge can fill it, or patter make you forget. I think of patter as that small talk that so many folks do easily. I struggle to make that natural; perhaps because I rehearse my patter so often before it leaves my mouth.

    I volunteer at a senior center, and I love the fact that they truly celebrate birthdays. No embarrassment or hiding their age. Just sponge cake and balloons!

    • Except for the fact that I’m so hearing impaired, I am really good at that small talk sort of patter. And while you are absolutely right that such patter can never fill the hole of a loss, when I actually lost him, I found myself doing tons of that patter and meeting lots of new people, while never once admitting that I was looking for his replacement. (small smile)

  6. The cake looks very tasty and now you have me thinking of those baseball-sized meatballs at Buca di Beppo. We’ll have to make some or go there soon!

    I trust the malware got cleaned up… that stuff has gotten more and more pesky.

    • I don’t especially remember the meatballs at Bucca, though we went there a number of times and always loved it. Sadly Bucca is not anywhere near where I live now, so I never go anymore. But I sure do remember it fondly. (Thinking of the chicken cacciatore and garlic mashed potatoes and thinking I should try to make That some day soon.)

  7. great internal reflection here. unlike a sponge, the brain always has room to absorb more without needing to drain anything out. but sometimes it has trouble soaking learning, when clouded from distractions.

    regards.

    • You know, I’m honestly unsure about the brain having infinite capacity. There are some memories that remain so vivid to me, even going on fifty years later, and yet there is so much I know I have forgotten. It sometimes seems to me as though the brain’s capacity is finite, if continually growing. And certainly, there are some things we surely would prefer to forget.

Leave a Reply

