Eulogy Courtyard Economics

I’ve previously written about New Orleans’ iconic shotgun houses.   Today,  a suggestion from my buddy Wayne Hurlbert has me thinking of another very New Orleans architectural feature,  the courtyard.    Many homes in the French Quarter show only their shutters to the sidewalk,  the houses built around a central courtyard.   Many of the courtyards in the French Quarter have become well known as restaurants and night clubs,  such as the Court of Two Sisters or Pat O’Brien’s.

Given my latest vacation from blogging,  I suppose I could just go ahead and write the eulogy for the blogging every day plan.   I recently went to the pharmacy and got my Seroquel– which I had been out of for a couple of weeks.    Always when I go off of it and then start back on Seroquel  it knocks me out.   I sleep for a good long time,  then wake up tired.    I’m afraid I just haven’t had the mental energy to write these blog posts the last several days.  Yet this morning,  I seem to be forcing myself to soldier along and it appears I will post on this last Friday in September.   And who knows that I might wake up tomorrow feeling energetic and ready to write and then I will have posted two days in a row and will be starting back in with the post every day routine.    On the other hand,  I have lately found myself looking forward to the end of the calendar year.   I suspect I may decide not to challenge myself to post every day again next year.

A long, long time ago,  in my freshman year at Louisiana State University– Baton Rouge,  I took a couple of economics courses.   I seem to recall that I earned decent grades in these courses,  and I remember the Law of Supply and Demand.    Yet I confess that economics at times confuses me.   I certainly see the laws of supply and demand at work in depressing the wages of freelance writers.   The global competition brought on by the Internet has us in a situation where writers in high wage/high cost of living countries simply can not compete with folks who can afford to work for a great deal less,  and live as well on that income as we would on much higher pay.   And yet I read that J. K. Rowling,  who became a billionaire from writing the Harry Potter books has a new novel out,  and am reminded that in some instances at least,  writing can still pay handsomely.    I suppose I just have to keep knocking out good copy and hope that some day I ascend to Ms. Rowling’s level of compensation for it.

26 comments on “Eulogy Courtyard Economics

    • I don’t offhand recall who wrote that famous elegy, Laura, but I am genuinely honored by the comparison. Thank you so very much for being a regular visitor and commentator here. I appreciate it more than you may ever know.

    • Thank you so much, Harold. I will be more than happy to give credit to both you and Laura when I write about these three words. I may try to come up with some unusual meaning or association for Canterbury.

    • Thank you so much, Mika. I’ve added these three to my list as well. Please note in the future, however, that I really don’t like place names in these three word titles. (I will have to look up Roanoke to see if it has a meaning other than a city in Virginia.)

    • Well….we could certainly debate the definition of “free-lance writer” but to me, as someone who has made more than enough money to live on while writing books, under her own name and not as an employee of someone else, she is a “free-lance writer”.

  1. I do not know how you write such marvelous pieces of material but wonderful reading …. I quite recently thought how Rowling got so much money … To me (I may be wrong) few books in the Harry Potter series weren’t needed in such great detail … and there are some flaws to me too … But i do not discuss the economics and/or the books for i feel the discussion would be endless and tiring

    • well, the simple answer is that she wrote books that became VERY popular. Part of that popularity is almost certainly due to good luck and good timing. I honestly have no idea how much or how little Ms. Rowling may have considered how the stories would be received, though I would like to believe that she wrote these stories because they were in her heart to tell them and that the fact that they became wildy popular and made her wealthy is just serendipity.

  2. Alan, it is not even necessary to reach the exalted heights of J.K. Rawling’s success as an author to make a good living. The book sales are really only one part of an author’s income. Other revenues can arrive from freelancing, public appearances, speeches, and even ghostwriting. For a business person, the book works as a mega-business card, and sets the individual apart from the competition. The book can also be used as a giveaway item to establish credibility and expertise.

    • Wayne, to an extent I agree with you, although it seems to me that some of the folks making a comfortable living as you describe are less free lance writers than oh let’s say independent subject matter experts or professional personalities. Sorry, my friend, I suppose I am quibbling a bit.

Leave a Reply

