Weird Stubborn Ornery

I confess that the stained glass image  (which was previously displayed on the Ornery Bastard blog) was chosen for Laura.   I don’t honestly know if Anglicans go for stained glass,  but hope the thought will count for something.    I feel rather guilty.   Today I read another great post on Laura’s blog Lay Anglicana.   Yet felt that I simply could not comment.   I haven’t the faintest clue what church office the featured subject of this post is up for,  and to my knowledge I have never in my life been personally acquainted with an Etonian.   I am reminded again that the US and the UK are two very distinct nations more divided than anything by mostly sharing a common language.

I suppose that my persistent refusal to comment on posts I lack the cultural background to fully understand could be construed as ornery,  although I do not intend it that way of course.   I just don’t feel that I can speak intelligently about something I genuinely do not understand.    I do think that Laura is writing for a very particular audience and this is simply an example of how targeting your niche tends to exclude visitors who are not a part of your niche.   When I think about it,  I realize that my refusal to comment on Laura’s blog could also be construed as stubborn.   To an extent I suppose that stubborn and ornery are somewhat synonymous,  although somehow ornery  to me suggests an especially entrenched stubbornness that has gone on for years and years and singed if not burned scores and scores of innocent bystanders.

To be perfectly honest,  I think I have always been a bit weird.   I’ve always known that I am not and don’t want to be just like most people.    I recall an anecdote that Laura shared about a hippy who moved off to the woods and grew a beard.   When the popular crowd arrived and began emulating him en masse he moved back to town and shaved.    If it had been me,   I think I would have just moved farther away from those imitators.    The fact is I just kind of am and always have been a big bearded bear of a guy and if you find that weird or not to your taste,  go talk to somebody else.   I am who I am and it is not now nor has it ever been open for discussion.     My thanks to Harold Gardner  who suggested today’s words in a comment on Eccentric Independent Contrary.

31 comments on “Weird Stubborn Ornery

  1. Nice post! Very informative… And by the way, being weird is a great thing. I think we’re a member of the same club. 😉 Makes life more interesting. I enjoyed your post!

  2. Choosing to not make a comment may have been the best choice and shouldn’t be misconstrued as stubborn or ornery. You chose to not speak on a topic that you were not familiar with. As the saying goes “Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.”

    • Thanks so much, Joshua. Ordinarily I probably would not construe simply not commenting on a blog post as stubborn or ordinary, but I had those two words to work with today and often for me the very essence of these three word posts is to tinker and fit whatever words I have through whatever is in my life or on my mind at the moment.

  3. Well, when a good response fails me, I just try to come up with something involving bacon, because it’s really all about bacon… (see, I just did it… hahaha).

    It really stinks when you feel that a coherent response is required and you either draw a blank, or worse, as you mention, you have no basis for actually making an intelligent response.

    I sure have no problem with wierdness. It runs in our family, and in particular in me and my children (and I have high hopes for the grandkids!!!)

    Thanks for the post, Alan!

    • Well….in my experience, even among vegetarians sometimes, bacon really is always appropriate. A picture of crispy bacon has saved My bacon on more than one occasion.

  4. I think it is very modest and sweet of you to refuse to comment on blogs when you don’t get all the cultural references – I wish some of those who *do* comment shared half of your reticence!
    The job these chaps are all up for is the head honcho, called the Archbishop of Canterbury (you are so highly educated I expect you know the story of Thomas a Becket, one of the previous men in the job, who was murdered by the king’s men in Canterbury cathedral.) It is a highly political job, which involves trying to get on with the government, the different factions in the church, eg those like me who are in favour of same sex marriage in church and women bishops, and those who go into a fainting fit at the very thought. The Episcopal Church in America is the proper American wing of the (worldwide) Anglican Communion, but has gay bishops, women bishops, and now a gay woman bishop. The conservatives around the world protested this and there was a breakaway group from The Episcopal Church. Now they are fighting over buildings etc. Anyway, in theory the man chosen (not by public vote as in US) is head of the Anglican Communion as well.
    Meanwhile, I certainly don’t regard you as stubborn, but do feel a tiny bit guilty at the thought of (inadvertently obviously) excluding you. In the long run, I will have to hope the jokes make up for it. But I have to plead guilty as charged…

    • I am familiar with the story of Thomas Beckett and greatly enjoyed watching most of Showtime’s series Henry VIII which dealt with the formation of your church. I’ve also read a few volumes of Trollope, which I suppose should have more informed be about the C of E, yet I honestly remember not a single thing about any of Trollope’s novels. (I find myself almost hoping that the novels are eminently forgettable rather than that I have no capacity for retaining great literature.) And being faithful to your niche actually makes you a Better blogger in my considered opinion. If you are writing to the Angliacan community than by golly stick with it and write for that community, and don’t worry too much about drumming up comments from friends of other faiths.

  5. Libdrone

    While I agree that “the US and the UK are two very distinct nations more divided than anything by mostly sharing a common language.” is 100 % true – being English – but having lived in the States for a lot longer – the challenge is not to assume.

    Why for example Americans insist on pronouncing Scottish, English, Irish and Welsh names they way prefer to – rather than the correct way – as they do for France, Germany, Spain – indeed any other country that ‘doesn’t speak English demonstrates a continually reaffirmed assumption that the UK is ended the 51st State.

    That all said – I would disagree that we are that different. You might not have met someone from Eton – but you will have met people educated in rich private schools (in England they are called Public schools – go figure) that are no different – and just as we have Cambridge and Oxford – so too Harvard, Princeton etc. Private Clubs – go check out one of many men’s only clubs like The Bohemian Grove (why Augusta gets all the heat is beyond me.) Free Masonry is alive and well in the USA. Elitism. Bias. Assumption. All are doing very well here – just like in Jolly Old England !!! And as for living under a Monarch – trust me when you examine who is really managing the US – I think the British have a lot more choice.

    No, it is not being ornery – it is the failure to comment because you are assuming that there is nothing to be added. There is always something to be added. Even around the Lay Anglicina post. Take a read of his background.

    You did want comments didn’t you 🙂

    • mmm. I do appreciate comments, even when they don’t make all that much sense 🙂 It appears as though you are trying to rival the legendary Holly Jahangiri in leaving a comment as long as the original post, and for that I do salute you 🙂

  6. I’m happy to see I’m not the only that feels as though commenting on something when you have no clue about the language used is not cool. Thanks for sharing

  7. I think it’s more ornery to comment on things one knows nothing about, though this seems to be the most common discourse on the Net!
    As far as weird, what could be more weird than Religion itself? With its requirement of the supernatural to justify its very existence!
    Lovely stained glass BTW, looks good on Pinterest.

  8. Very interesting post, I think you are totally spot on for not commenting on blogs that include cultural information your unsure about or never heard of. Thanks for sharing

  9. Thanks for asking me to stop by, Lidrone. I must admit that I have do not have the intellectual capacity to make enough sense of anything you wrote here to comment intelligently about. That said, I do know an Etonian very well. He is my Princeton room mate, Vikas Kapoor from Bombay, India. I also know Harold Gardner. We play tennis together in Houston. Best of success to you. I better go look for 3 words to challenge myself with ;D

  10. There is always a name given for behavior that doesn’t conform with the “norm”. Some call it weird, stubborn – I call it a person’s right to be what he wants to be. If everyone acted the same, the world would implode. No one would attempt to excel, or try something different. We are only here once, enjoy life any way you want.

  11. Beards have a way of growing one day and staying around for a while. I also know there are a lot of great meds out there given to those of us who think we should be normal, or balanced, or maybe just a little less weird. Then I think about what the world would be like if Mozart, Picaso, Munch, van Gogh, Hemingway, or Sylvia Plath wanted to just be like most people…

  12. How could you comment on something that you don’t comprehend? I was confused too and Layangelicana didn’t clear things up a whole lot either.

  13. Would it be weird if I refused to comment on your post? Nah, just being my stubborn ole self. Well, to be truthful, and more accurately, I’m really an ornery ole S.O.B.

Leave a Reply

