basket lighthouse tomato

I took the weekend off from blogging.   It was bright and sunny and warm and I was reminded of an old saying that summer arrives just after fourth of July here in the Northwest.   This morning it seems again cool and gray,  though it is quite possible the sun will come out this afternoon and make things balmy again.

I do of course know the difference between tomatoes and peaches,  yet I found this pic of baskets of peaches just so fitting that I had to use it. Except for around Easter,  most of us don’t see to many baskets these days.   Those large metal contraptions one pushes around the supermarket hardly count.    Apart from the baskets of fresh peaches we used to get every summer,  what stands out most in my mind surrounding the word basket is the related term  basket weaving.     When I was growing up in Louisiana in the 1970’s,  basket weaving was often used as an example of a completely useless profession.  (“If you go to school,  study business or engineering or something– don’t spend all that time and money to get a degree in basket weaving.”)  Yet I know there can be a great deal of skill involved in creating a basket and some baskets can be genuine works of art.

The lighthouses are among the things I remember the most from my visit to coastal Maine.    I also remember a particularly stunning lighthouse my late huzband Joel and I visited at Yacquina Point on the Oregon coast.    It always seemed such a horribly lonely existence the lighthouse keeper and his family were compelled to live,   constantly tending their light and never free to leave it.   I was frankly relieved when I looked it up and discovered that the salad dressing company chose to deliberately mis-spell this word.   (The dressing is branded “Litehouse”.)

Tomatoes are as much a product of summer as peaches are.   I have never myself grown tomatoes,  though I have seen friends and family do it.   I am remembering a bunch of small yellow grape tomatoes a friend gave us a few years back.     It’s still cloudy and cool outside as I bring this post to a close.   I am off to the pharmacy to pick up a few things.    And finally today,  my thanks to Susan Critelli who suggested today’s words.

11 comments on “basket lighthouse tomato

    • There really isn’t anything wrong with basket weaving, which can indeed be a very artistic pursuit. This is one of many, many sayings from my youth that I have discarded either because they were or because they might come across as racist, sexist, bigoted, etc. It seems to me much of the world has grown up a great deal about many things over the years of my life.

  1. Haha, my dad used to tell me that English was a degree in “underwater basket-weaving.” I suppose it’s not the most lucrative degree to get, but I’ve been able to make a decent living off of it! 🙂

    • I think the best advice is to study what you love and are most interested in. It can be very hard to guess what careers may be in demand when you have finished a four year or longer degree. Many people with liberal arts degrees go on to find good jobs and make successful careers. And there are many people who complete a long expensive professional degree (like M.D. or J.D.) only to find they really don’t like working in the profession and end up pursuing careers that are not related to their degrees.

Leave a Reply

