Binders Chair Clock

I used to be a big fan of binders.   Back when I was in school I strongly preferred them to spiral bound notebooks.   That you can insert, remove and re-arrange the pages was for me a huge draw.   I sometimes used a thick three ring binder,  with tabs separating the different subjects I was studying that year.    Other times I had a separate binder for each course.    As illustrated in the photograph they came in all sorts of fun colors,  and having a different color for each binder made it easy to keep track of which was which.   These days,   binders (and for that matter spiral bound notebooks) seem a quaint anachronism.    Honestly?   I don’t seem to ever anymore write words by hand rather than enter them on a keyboard.

For office workers,   chairs are essential.    I remember back when I worked for Sprynet  (back when that was a company),  management ordered new chairs for the entire office.   Everyone was so thrilled the morning we came in and found all of the rickety, uncomfortable old chairs gone and replaced with sleek, new-fangled chairs of black mesh,  ergonomically designed and adjustable sixteen ways from Sunday.    The other chair that sticks out in my memory is my father’s recliner.   As a small child,  it seemed just huge to me.   I loved to sit in it,  and flick the lever back to bring up the footrest.   With the footrest up it seemed a huge play space, and served in my imagination as a covered wagon, crossing the plains,  as a ship making its way across the seas or even as a rocket, hurling through skies towards discoveries in outer space.    Years later when I had morphed from a small child to  large man,  I looked at it again and could not believe how small the chair actually was.

Some days the clock is my enemy.   Other days it is my friend.    There are times when these three word posts just seem to write themselves,   and I am finished, published and working on promotion long before the 5pm deadline.   (The deadline is five pm in my time zone because that is the hour when it becomes tomorrow on the server where this blog lives.)    Other days,  I am just not motivated to write, and I spend hours staring at the screen,   going over to other tabs,   playing little games and just generally wasting time.   I’ve found that simple nouns like the ones my blog reader  J.R. Wirshing  suggested for today tend to be really easy.    A phrase that actually means something is often the most challenging.   Here is hoping that today finds your summer going well.    I hope that you are keeping cool and having fun.

24 comments on “Binders Chair Clock

  1. I dont remember the last time I physically wrote don’t something for the sake of writing it down. That’s about all that has changed.

  2. Alan. We all used those loose leaf notebooks back in the day. I always had several different colours as well. Many students had their books covered in stickers. I preferred mine to be pristine. You are also correct about how some things that seemed so large when we were children, appear at first glance to be smaller. The remedy for that is to free your imagination and let the items or places in question shift from smaller to larger once again.

    • mmmm. As I approach 50 years on this planet, I am acutely aware of how much larger I am today than I was back when I was a small boy and that recliner chair seemed so huge. And writing about memories, it seems to me, is a great way to keep them alive and even to imagine them as they might have been or as they yet might be…depending on how it turns out time really works.

    • machines really are much more efficient at storing and retrieving data. To be perfectly blunt, if God had intended me to write things by hand, the keyboard would Never have come into being 🙂

  3. I am forced to begin at the end of your post- we are having no difficulty at all keeping cool in England this year, the temperature has barely reached 70 degrees for the whole of June, which they now say was the coldest and wettest since 1910. (I do remember it being distinctly parky that year).

    Now, your charming post. I do prefer it as a reader when it is possible to link all 3, even if you do not do so specifically. I picture you trying out all the chairs from childhood to manhood as the clock ticks on the wall and you graduate from A4 ring binders to the mysteries of Windows (or I suppose Apple)

    • As I type this just after 5 pm on July 3rd, a deliciously cool breeze blows in through my window. It is very bright and sunny outside but my house feels cool and comfortable with the the windows open. I think I did a bit better incorporating your most recent three word suggestion in my latest post. (And I have always been a Windows user, not because I LIKE it but because it was the system I had to use for work.)

  4. I have nothing against clock. For me, it’s an artistic display after I made my choice. On the other hand, I never watch a clock in the office since I did not make that mechanistic decision to put an ugly one there. I use my smartphone or iPad to check clock when I’m in the office.

    • How interesting that you focused on a physical clock, Nicolas. I almost never look at an actual clock these days but the displays on my laptop and my tablet keep me constantly aware of time. And the 5pm deadline for getting a blog post in with the current days date is the ONLY time deadline or schedule that I attempt to comply with these days. I love being free-lance and unscheduled and able to work when I feel like working and not whenever my shift rolls around.

  5. I love typical yellow colored ruled papers to make notes. As a student my college mates branded me as girl with yellow pages . Those were some fun days!!! I now make notes but on spiral binders . why? i truly do not know. may be i just forgot what I used to love 10 / 12 years ago . I am a heavy user of keyboard as well now. Talk about blogging. I am yet to post since June of 2011 on my blog :-/ . so not cool of me. But this blog of yours gives some inspiration and may be i can use my mid-week holiday to do some writing. Thanks for the post, Alan!

    • Now that you mention it, Meetu, I also had many phases of preferring a yellow legal pad to organize my notes or term papers or other writing projects. And in many cases when I was in school they were accepted for writing assignments to turn in on.

  6. I love binders and all the colors. I used them to keep my files for contracts until a few years ago. Now, it makes more since to keep everything on my computer, especially when we have electronic signatures. I do miss doodling though 🙂 It was one of the things I used to get my creative juices flowing again. NO doodling on the screen!

    • I miss doodling too. For awhile, I think it was around 7th grade, I enjoyed creating mazes by drawing parallel lines. They could could get so intricate and each one was unique, though hardly a work of art. (my doodles sadly had not a scintilla of artistic merit)

  7. I love to write – on my mac. I even more love to write – when I dictate by speech recognitions but to scribble something or to create a mind map paper and a pen is the best an most effectiv

    Message to Detlev – look for an iPad App who does this and get a pen.

    • I have never tried speech to text software. I really like typing and arranging words correctly on the screen to communicate with other people. If I’m going to talk, we need to be face to face (I’m hearing impaired and I don’t DO phones, sorry 🙂

  8. Sometimes I show up with binders for a sales presentation; so folks have something to take with them. I suspect most of the time they end up being file in the circular filing cabinet.

  9. Quite funny how the English language has different words in different countries for the same object, and different objects for the same word.

    For example, having been educated in a very English school system in Rhodesia and then lived both there and in South Africa as an adult, we stored papers in flat, concertina or box files – not binders. The word “binder” was rarely used. except in reference to certain machine parts and I think a type of fabric used in dressmaking.

    A piece of tape or elastic band around a roll of paper (or fabric) might have been called a binder occasionally.

    Conversely, we put petrol in our vehicles, and used gas in forklifts, camping stoves and heaters, which seem to prefer propane here in North America.

    • Hey Peter. I’m wondering if you might be able to find a picture of a concertina or box file? Is is similar to the cover and rings thingy or something different that served the same purpose. English is such a ubiquitous language, but it is spoken quite differently in many different places. I too find the different names and usages fascinating.

  10. I mainly used legal pads or composition books when in school. The thought of carrying the large binders around had no appeal.
    I have the opposite size example. Voting for our ward is held at school for kindergarten to 4th grade. While there I had need of using the restroom. With everything geared for 5-8 year old boy it was quite the challenge!

  11. lol. being confronted with child size toilet facilities. Just typing that phrase makes me think of John Irving’s novel The Hotel New Hampshire, with the fourth floor bathrooms and their child sized fixtures.

Leave a Reply

