Bliss Difference Foxtrot

The first thing that comes to my mind when I hear the word foxtrot is the comic strip by Bill Amend that I remember from years ago when I was growing up.   The funny pages are one of the things I miss the most from the days of print newspapers.  The foxtrot is also a dance.   Just click here if you would like a video lesson.  As words go, foxtrot seems to me a much easier word to blog about than difference.

I can’t say that I have been experiencing any sort of bliss lately.   Not that things are going terribly badly.  But nothing is going really well and I seem to just slog from day to day,  making it through one day at a time and trying not to worry too much about tomorrow.    I know of course that things could be so, So, SO much worse for me and my family,  so I try to count my blessings each day and not stress over things that are not as I would have them be.   The thing about bliss, it seems to me, is that it is something you can experience,  if you leave yourself open to the serendipity of the universe.  But it’s not something you can actively plan for or make happen.

Differences,  it seems to me, are what can divide us.   Unless we truly value diversity and celebrate the differences between us,  without letting them come between us.   It sometimes seems to me that we humans assume a great deal about other people.   Most of the time I don’t think this is malicious,  near so much as naive.    We assume that people we know and value look at the world in similar ways to us,  take similar approaches to moral questions or approach their lives in the similar ways to how we approach ours.   And it’s always very jarring when we discover it simply is not true.    In my heart I know that celebrating our diversity is the path to greater human understanding.   Even though in my head I know that sometimes this is really hard.

12 comments on “Bliss Difference Foxtrot

  1. The thing about differences… is that no two things are exactly the same. People get hung up and divided over superficial differences ..differences in gender, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, politics etc.. etc.. and they look to group with those that portray a sense of “sameness” trying to grasp at their idea of “normal” …That is the real illusion. “Normal” doesn’t exist.

  2. Well, better “Bliss Difference Foxtrot” than “Whiskey Tango Foxtrot”… even when you’re not totally upbeat, you’re looking upward… always appreciate your ability to reach inside and give us something to work with!

  3. Empire Avenue demonstrates to me daily that what I had thought my heightened ability to judge people’s characters by their avatars is wrong more often than it is right. The most unpreposessing types turn out to be geniuses, and nice as well. It really is a shock to the system, but I am learning to look at the world again and trying not to prejudge… the book is often very different from its cover.

    As you say, bliss is fleeting and only comes to those not on the look out for it.

    The foxtrot is a helluva dance for a woman. Whereas the man begins by putting his best (right) foot forward in a purposeful sort of way, the woman has to do it all backwards, and in heels (as they said of Fred and Ginger)

    Try and have a smiling day – remember that life is a comedy to those that think, though a tragedy to those that feel. Now who said that before me? Cannot remember…

    • I think that we all react to visual clues. I also think it is good to recognize the limits of what we can discern just from an image. I certainly have sympathy for women who were expected to do the dances backwards. Honestly, I’m not co-ordinated enough to have learned how to do them forwards 🙂

  4. Gotta admit that you threw me for a loop this time. With that military helicopter sitting on the apron, I thought that you were going to talk about Fort Bliss, in El Paso, TX. Oh well, it’s all blissful.

  5. I don’t think we’ll ever see a time when we all celebrate each other’s differences. It’s just human nature to gravitate to those who share your beliefs, likes, life styles. If you have nothing in common with someone, and you don’t like what they wear, the movies they watch, what’s to celebrate?

    I can tell you this…being the conservative Catholic that I am…those with differing views who don’t know me sure do judge and hate me before they ever celebrate me 🙂

    • it is always easier to judge a label than a person. But if you are willing to comment on my blog, I am certainly willing to respect that you have beliefs and values I will never share 🙂

Leave a Reply

