Being Patient With Your Boor

Patience has never been my long suit.     When I want something I tend to want it right now, thank you very much,  and would you please get it for me right away.    Yet patience is an absolutely essential trait in most any kind of planned social media.      Today,   while I should be writing that new book  (and I did get started on it and wrote perhaps 20% of it the other day) I find myself working on an experiment to promote the #definethis daily word game.    It will take several weeks to fully implement this new strategy and will take months in fact to see how well it does or doesn’t pay off.       I think the trick will be to stick with implementing it over those weeks and months until it becomes clear how well it works.    I am trying real hard to learn patience,  as it applies to giving strategies time to prove themselves or clearly fail.  I am not going to go into the strategy here  (I have to save something for the book) but if you enjoy obscure and unusual words,   I certainly invite you to join us in the daily Twitter word game.   Just visit the #definethis blog every day for the latest word and concise instructions.

I also today find myself wanting to tell an acquaintance that he comes across so salesy that I these days am making almost every effort to avoid hearing from him.   Lately this guy seems to send me an instant message every day or so.    I never reply to these IM’s anymore,   and I have already unsubscribed from all of his updates.   We were introduced by someone who is a good bit further along the road from acquaintance to friend in my own personal account books and I really don’t want to un-friend  (because it would likely be noticed and might spark hurt feelings and public sentiments).     Some days,  I wish I weren’t so thoroughly Southern and would just tell the guy to leave me alone.   /sighs   I actually know that I will not ever tell off my salesy acquaintance,  or even admit to him that I find his IM’s annoying.   I know that being gracious with socially inept people is one of the duties of those who would claim to have decent manners.    And sometimes,   putting up with a boor is simply one’s duty.

12 comments on “Being Patient With Your Boor

  1. We all got one or two, and we are probably a boor to someone else. I will keep these words in mind as I attempt to ‘sell’ myself and works in the coming weeks.

    • Yes, I feel certain that I no doubt come across boorishly to others at times. I think it’s something that anyone who is trying to socialize with other people comes up against at times, both as the boor and the one trying graciously to ddeal with them.

  2. I hate upsetting people, if I think I’ve hurt someone feelings I’m mortified. Chances are if this guy is a sales person he wont care less if you dump him (they don’t have feelings like the rest of us :D). Of course you’re worried about offending your real friend… you could talk to that person… maybe they hate them too! 🙂

  3. Oh, you really are a Southern gentleman, aren’t you! Being an English woman of a certain age is almost as bad (when someone treads on our toe, we apologise). I don’t think there is a cure for either condition – the only compensation is thinking rather smugly to ourselves how much better brought up we are than the person who is offending against our sense of proper behaviour. But you’re probably too much of a gentleman even to feel smug?

  4. Australians don’t like salesy stuff either. For anyone out there marketing to Australians, two tips:
    1. Tone it down – be a lot more conversational and a lot less hyped
    2. Remember you can make money from us ‘upside down’ while you’re asleep, we’re at work or picking up kids, just trying to solve problems. When it’s your winter, it’s our summer…

  5. Upside down, Jenny and sideways too! Boorish people – I avoid, don’t go there anymore – I’ve always enjoyed the company of the down to earth, down under types – front bar much more friendly than the lounge or disco. Let me buy you a beer next time you’re passing through.

Leave a Reply

