Procrastination

At times I find myself wishing that I were not quite so gifted in the art of procrastination.    I had intended today to go to the pharmacy and get my insulin and go run another errand.    But I realized that I needed to shower and put on fresh clothes first.   And then I realized that I would have to do a couple of loads of laundry before I could do that.    Part of me feels happy to say that I did two loads of laundry today.     It was sunny and warm and the machines were all available so was an easy chore.   And now there are clean t-shirts, shorts and towels in the closets.

I ran out of insulin on Saturday.     I know I should have gone on Monday to get more,  but it looks like it is going to be Wednesday before I get over there.        I know that today I did laundry instead of going out to run errands.   I don’t off hand remember what I did on Monday rather than go to the pharmacy.        I trust that I will somehow not procrastinate further tomorrow and will actually go and get my insulin and run my errands.    As I type this a zephyr pushes in the window blinds and a fresh burst of spring air gushes before me and I promise myself that tomorrow  I will go out and do my errands.

28 comments on “Procrastination

  1. One of the reason procrastination happen is that one always try to line up tasks in a sequence. I need to do A, but I need to do B first, and so on. This happened to me many times. I’m trying different tweaks to fix things 🙂

  2. If once a man indulges himself in murder, very soon he comes to think little of robbing; and from robbing he comes next to drinking and Sabbath-breaking, and from that to incivility and procrastination.

    • interesting how that goes. But I would think it would stand to reason then that never having indulged in murder I would be immune to procrastination….

  3. Wow do I know this problem well. Its amazing how I can fill my day with really important stuff like looking at every email, filing them, then spending a couple of hours on things like Empire Avenue or tweeting…. all while the weeds in my garden grow into trees 😉

    • I am remembering growing up in Louisiana….there were trees we called rain trees….they constantly sprouted new trees all over the place and if you were not prompt in clearing them out of your garden you would very soon be faced with a new forest….perhaps we should have grown them for lumber 🙂

  4. I got to say this one caught me off guard. I am guilty of procrastination. I am in the same situation and it really isn’t all about procrastinating and time management but I sometimes try to do too much in a very short period of time and I can’t say no to others when they ask me for help. 🙂

    • mmmm. I know the ‘can’t say no’ thing can keep you as busy as a one armed paper hanger, without even counting your own work. Thanks so much for stopping by today.

    • mmm. I have to hope that for most of us at least, procrastination will abate before we are invariably headed to the poor house ::) Thanks so much for stopping by today.

  5. Well could get a courier to deliver or Walmart I suppose. Then you could wonder more about wondering over procrastination and wonder more how it works that you get nothing done AND then buy the time you have stopped wondering its too late The dash has been finished, and the start and end dates created. Dash is that what that Dash means, procrastination my whole life! LOL have a great day Alan

  6. I try to do things as and when they come my way…..I don’t regret , because, i think carefully before taking up a task…..Multiple tasks are also OK with me…..Thanks for such a great post….

  7. There’s an awesome book written by James Pressfield on this very subject: THE WAR OF ART, and obvious wordplay on the other famous novel.

  8. I’ve never experienced it. I leap out of bed every morning and begin working through the detailed list of chores I prepared the night before… 🙂

  9. I can relate to your blog on procrastination – I too am an expert. The key to overcoming the issue is a work list that I stick to. I still have my bouts with the p word but very infrequently – mac & cheese with shrimp….hmmm….

  10. Pingback: Scapula Pate Cordwainer | Libdrone's Thoughts and Musings

Leave a Reply

