Let’s Do Lunch

On a recent post,  Lisa Lavergen-Pottgen   commented about the Apple vs Amazon dispute that has been getting a lot of play.    I remarked that to me it seemed like a battle of two huge monopolists that has little to do with the concerns of ordinary readers and writers.      I have always been a writer.    I have found ways,  over the years,  to use my ability to write to make at times a great living,   although my job title has never been Writer and others who held similar positions may have relied much more on verbal communications.   But so long as I can still blog without having to provide audio,   there continues to be a market for good writing,   and anyone who can get a hold of a word processor and string together a noun and a verb has every bit as much chance of becoming a published author today.

I was so freaking excited about the eBook revolution.   Writers can simply upload a word processor file,  and in less than an hour usually it gets  “smashed”  into a huge number of eBook file formats and within a few weeks is offered for sale in several major eBook vendors.   Smashwords,  in my considered opinion is a GREAT option for anyone who can put together a book.     While I think it is important not to skimp on things like a copy editor, a proofreader and professional graphics,  the fact is that Smashwords makes it possible to publish to pretty much everyone.      There is such huge potential here,  that those of you who did not grow up in an era when most writers spent most of their time querying and pitching editors in places like  New York and hoping to be chosen from the slush pile.   I have to be honest and point out that this ease of access to electronic publishing means that there is a LOT of dreck out there.    The sad fact is there was a good reason so, so many of those writers out there never could get through to Big Publishing.    Their work really wasn’t that good.

I am proud to publish all of my work with Smashwords and hope that I will continue to draw readers like you for many years to come.      I remain very excited about my new project and look forward to putting in a lot of hard work and carefully planning an introduction and will soon set out on developing a whole new audience,  completely from scratch.    I am half nervous that this is going to be Really hard and half excited about the plan I am formulating to make it work.

Leave a Reply

