Red Gravy

Some days are for remembering.    The background picture today is a plate of fried catfish and macaroni and cheese from Rocky and Carlo’s restaurant in Chalmette, Louisiana.    I remember on Sunday afternoons my Daddy would take us there.   It was about an hour’s drive from our home in mid-city.   The place didn’t look like much.   Driving by you might have easily taken it for just another bar room.   Though in the New Orleans area some rather unassuming spots turn out to be havens  full of great food.    I most always ordered the veal parmesan  with  macaroni and cheese and red gravy.    The portions were huge,  and inevitably there would be more than enough left over to bring home for another meal.

Those who have visited my music Tumblr may remember that I’m a fan of popular music from the 1960’s–1980’s.   But growing up it was my father’s music,  largely from the 1940’s that was always playing at our house.   Daddy used to listen to WWIW— the way it was radio 1450.   I never did become a fan of that music,  yet as I sit here today remembering I can hear that station’s brassy jingle as clearly as if it were playing in my headphones right now.

I haven’t been back to New Orleans since 2002,  when my dad passed away.   And I know that much of the city had to be razed and rebuilt after the flooding from hurricane Katrina in 2005.   Though even without such cataclysmic destruction and rebuilding I also know that places constantly change and evolve.   And once you’ve left,  you can never go home again.   I am finding that memories can be quite powerful.   I really can almost taste that plate of veal and pasta as I type this.   While I can’t say that remembering is necessarily as good as being there,  I do know that memories can nourish the soul.

8 comments on “Red Gravy

  1. Hi Alan,

    Reflecting on and remembering these times with you Dad must be very important to you, or for you. It seems you and he shared a love for food.
    I hope today is a good day for you Alan.

    Gaye

    • Today, as I type this reply is definitely a much better day for me than the day I wrote the post we are commenting on. Thanks so much for your kind words, Gaye.

  2. I am on the same boat as you are. It has been 10 months since my dad passed and I can understand what it means. Memories become stronger only on missing someone or something 🙂 Lovely to remember those good times with our dad. It makes me very emotional that he’s not there but happy that there are so many memories to keep going .

    • My dad passed back in 2002, Srivatsan, so I have actually had a bit more time to learn to live with it. I’m coming to believe that in the end memories are exactly all we are left with. An I think you are right, that the good ones become much stronger over time.

Leave a Reply

