Button Dancing With The (Blog) Stars

Sometimes I really do wish that I were the one who came up with the expressions that go viral.    I first heard the expression “button dancing”  on my friend Holly’s  blog.   She quotes Hajra Khatoon  with coining the phrase “button dance”  for the act of clicking all the like and share buttons on a blog post–the high speed intersection of blogging and social networking.   It is an apt expression,  and more and more of us are doing it every day it seems.    Sometimes I do it because a friend sent me a request or offered a few eaves in an Empire Avenue mission.  Other times just because I found myself  impressed with someone’s comments or content.

It seems to me that button dancing is just one part of what I am coming to recognize as an entire global economy in social recognition.     I’ve written before that reciprocity is really what makes most things  go around online.    In Walking Down The Avenue, I mention the “speed dating”  that used to be frequently practiced in the #SocialEmpire Facebook group.  Not nearly as naughty as it sounds,  speed dating merely involves creating a thread or an event.  Each user who signs in to the event visits the Facebook profile or page of every other participant and Likes everything on the page and leaves a comment or two.   Sometimes you find interesting information or discover cool things on your friends’ pages.   And sometimes real conversations  (and sometimes great and or hilarious conversations) take place on Facebook pages.   I often find myself shooting the breeze with Randi, Jake and Sharon among many other friends I talk to on Facebook.

Empire Avenue missions fit neatly into the social recognition economy.  They allow bloggers and social networkers to give their friends an incentive to do the button dance or to perform any number of other   actions that make the recognition economy go around.   I’ve used missions to revive the #definethis  daily word game on Twitter.    I’m having a great deal of fun with my friends who enjoy obscure and unusual words.   And I’ve found that the more I succeed in my goal of having fun with my friends online,  the more my Empire Avenue scores, dividends and share price go up.    What about you?  Do you do the button dance?  Have you ever like bombed a friend’s Facebook page?

37 comments on “Button Dancing With The (Blog) Stars

    • Well, Ron, if you tell me what kind of pie you like I’d be sure to have it in the background one day. Or if there is something else you’d prefer to see just let me know and I will do my best, (Shhhh– I secretly work for the pie promotion board 🙂

    • But Vicki! It’s oh so easy. Just scroll up to the end of the post part of this thread and click on one of the buttons. You’ll be doing the button dance in NO time at all!

    • Daria, I do believe that every blogger I’ve ever met has at least sometimes felt very pressed for time. To do it well, blogging and social networking can take enormous amounts of time. I always urge folks to do what they can and try real hard not to worry about what they just don’t have time for.

    • Well, Hajra is I believe rightfully the author of the phrase. See my reply to Kris’ comment below. Go give Hajra some button dancing to thank her for the phrase. (Then use it all your like 🙂

  1. I’m new to Empire Avenue, but it’s been good to me. The members are generous, and I’ve begun enjoying social media for the first time in over two years. I’m an early adopter, so I’ve been around the internet since the late nineties.

    Who knows how long EA will be around, but for now I’m enjoying the new connections and building a new brand.

    Dance button, walking down the avenue, whatever you want to call it, Empire Ave is a good deal.

      • Use whatever buttons YOU prefer using, Hajra. I have all of the available buttons at the bottom of each post. I am not on LinkedIn (didn’t like it and closed the account and deleted the profile) but am registered with most every other site. If you want to do me a really HUGE favor. StumbleUpon a clever post. SU traffic is never regular, but if a post clicks you can get waves and waves and waves of visitors to a Stumbled post, for Years after the date you publish it. I don’t offhand remember the title but I once threw up a quick little book review and over the years got more than 3,000 SU visitors to that post.

  2. Lol! I just mentioned it to Holly and forgot about it; she was kind enough to acknowledge me! More than the button dance, I like doing the comment bombing; it not only increases the comment count rapidly (every bloggers dream?) but also makes for interesting conversations. We need to work on that, drop more than just one comment; don’t comment, make it a conversation!

    Thanks for the link! That is actually a contest post and I get points for anyone linking me! And I didn’t have to ask! 😉

    Thanks so much!

    • Always more fun if you don’t have to ask, I think. I completely agree you that the conversations in the comments are a huge part of the whole point of blogging. I feel so lucky to have friends like you and Holly to visit my comments section. (And I really am contemplating a Holly v Hajra Queens of the Comment Section post. Hee hee.)

    • Saul, I’m not so sure that it is narcissism that drives us. I don’t think that’s what drives me at any rate. I really do enjoy talking to my friends and I see my blog as a place where I can frame interesting discussions and have great chats with people I genuinely care about.

  3. I’ll admit, I have to do this on a case by case basis. I don’t think it is smart to hit all of the buttons as I have many of the same people following me on Twitter, friends on Facebook, in my Google circles, etc. and I don’t want to seem repetitive. Sometimes the best choice can be reblogging a post on Tumblr and that provides better exposure to a subject than posting it in my Facebook timeline.

    Also, I’ve been asked to send out Tweets about blog posts that are in German, French and Romanian when I’m not sure that many of my Followers speak these languages. So, for me, it depends on the content. Each platform is different to me and I try to pick the one(s) that seem most suitable for the material being shared.

    • You make some excellent points, Liz. I personally never follow anyone who primarily tweets in a language I don’t read. And I never send out a re-tweet if I don’t know what it says. When I started off I was a book blogger and then I discovered social networking and saw SN as a way to promote my blog. Once upon a time most of the people I knew on Twitter were other book reviewers, book publicists, authors etc. Many of those folks still follow me, although my interests have shifted more to social media and #indie publishing. You’re right that you Always need to keep in mind what your audience will find interesting. But if I myself find it interesting or noteworthy I’ll usually take a chance that at least some of my audience may find value in it as well.

      That said, I did once use an Empire Avenue mission to get a bunch of social media professionals to tweet something very silly with a typo that I believe YOU, Liz, caught. If you ever decide to do copy editing, I would jump at the chance to recommend you 🙂

  4. I do the button dance ONLY if I feel comfortable with the content from my main FBpages, twitter a/cs etc. I value my followers and I think they want to hear about Spain and/or social media.

    I will not RT garden sales in New Jersey or lost dogs in New Zealand. Period.
    (…and if it is on an EAv mission or similar, I won’t accept the eaves!)

    • Aww, Steve, you’re no fun! (I’m kidding, of course.)

      I swear, I thought your handle was “This is pain” for the longest time… There are a lot of people I’d consider a pain, but you never seemed to be one of them, so I was completely baffled.

      Finally figured it out and saw the second “s”.

      • I’d be tempted to get @Prunebutt1 to remind you of what real pain is, Holly, but I am all too well aware that PB has little reluctance to strike out at me– doesn’t seem to care Who is dinner just that someone is. So I will simply remind you that my audience is smart, eclectic and very much international :_)

Leave a Reply

