The Bet Mr. Everything Didn’t Take

It is said that those who do not study and learn from history are inevitably doomed to repeat it.    While Mr. Everything is a very intelligent (and certainly a very cunning) man,  he is very clearly new to the online world,  at least in relative terms as reckoned by someone who has been online for more than twenty years now.   I tried to teach Mr. E a bit of online history and share with him a few of the lessons I’ve learned over all these years.

I challenged Mr. E to a bet.    Would he try out every social network I could dig up?    His eyes lit up and he said sure!   I could see the wheels turning behind his eyes,  an aura of excitement passing over the man as he imagined discovering and conquering hot new sites before any of his friends heard about them.    That wasn’t quite what I had in mind.   I sent him this list of sites to join in what was to have been the first week of our little bet:

Blogcatalog.com
(http://blogcatalog.com/)

FriedEggs.com
(http://friedeggs.com/)

The CompuServe Forums

(http://webcenters.netscape.compuserve.com/forum_center/)

Vimeo
(http://vimeo.com/)

BrooWaha.com
(http://www.broowaha.com/)

Entrecard.com
(http://entrecard.com/)

I myself have accounts on some of these and have had accounts on others. I do not however actively participate on any of thse sites at this time. And there’s actually a good reason for that. By and large, having tried and tested these sites I either found no use for them, or after using them for a time found that between the changes I had grown through and the changes the sites had grown through, they no longer served by needs. Back in the late 80’s or early 90’s Compu$erve was the only game in town if you had a computer and wanted to “go online” and did not want to mess with finding a local bulletin board service that was a free call from your home telephone.

The fact that today the “CompuServe Forums” are actually a pretty lonely and poorly traveled corner of the Internet does not diminish what a huge game changing big deal they were in their hayday. And I am hardly going out on a limb to predict that some day, sites like Twitter and Facebook that really are essential for social networking to so many people today will too come to be passe, a shadow of their former selves or even taken offline entirely. An Internet community on a web site is actually a very fragile thing. You will see them start up at times or stumble upon them into their evolution. You will participate and help them grow at times. And at times, you will see them die. Sometimes death is gradual, as more and more users simply gravitate away to other diversions. Other times death follows a damaging flame war or series of flame wars that literally burn all of the life out of the group.

In my considered opinion it takes a great deal of time, energy and talent to create and maintain a good online group, which in some ways is really only as good as whomever chooses to continue participating there Today. I think you need to be selective about where and how you spend your time. I do think it is important to continually try new things and look for better ways. But I’m also dead set against trying to participate “Everywhere” and think that being able to find and examine available resources and figure out which ones to use and how best to use them, is pretty much a core competency of #socialnetworking or just about anything else you might try do for a living these days.

Next Week:  Mr. E’s reaction to my e-mail

109 comments on “The Bet Mr. Everything Didn’t Take

  1. I’ve always been selective about where I spend my time – even in the early days – ans so it continues. I heard yesterday that one guy had evaluated over 300 new social media sites in the last year, so it will be that FB and twitter will have their day and move on. Can’t wait to see the developments though.

    • I think you are a wise man, Tom. As I mention to Dane below I once had a spreadsheet that listed 500 different social networking sites. To me the fact that no one could possibly be everywhere is so bloody obvious that I am more than a bit shocked that I was NEVER able to get Mr. E to acknowledge it. Thanks so much for stopping by and congratulations on being today’s first commentator!

  2. Acording to the (decidedly un-scientific) calculations I did a couple months ago, assuming that you could do *everything* else you needed to do in your life in 12 hours a day, participating in every currently extant social site (mind you I’m NOT including forums, as that would just reduce this thing to stupid) would net you 135 seconds per site per day.

    While some of this ‘participation’ could be ‘automated’ depending on how we define ‘participate’, I also am fairly confident that I have not actually hunted down and accounted for *every* social sharing site out there either, so the whittling becomes moot in my opinion and the point remains valid.

    It’s like I told people back in the days when I was mostly hanging out on BUMPZee and one of the folks there invited me over to an argument about community in the BlogCatalog main board (where I earned the nickname ‘carpetbagger’ for coming into the thread from the outside)… What was I saying? Oh, yeah, You pick the place that feels like home and don’t go down the places that feel wrong. Beyond that the only right and wrong are someone else’s problem.

    • Just curious, Dane….do you have a list or a link to a list of social networking sites that attempts to be comprehensive? (I once downloaded a spreadsheet that listed 500 but have lost it, either changes computers or sticking it in some forgotten folder)

      • I have a list with 360ish on it… somewhere. It’s a couple months out of date though and I realized that any list that tries to be comprehensive in that way is doomed to failure because the field is more volatile, quite literally, than any field I’ve seen ever in my life.

        I really, at this point have tasks that I want to accomplish, and features that I want to see. Like, I just signed up for clipboard, and I will completely stop using pinterest because clipboard does what i actually wanted pinterest to do.

        I use Twitter 80% as a monitoring tool to learn new things as they happen and 15% as an introduction engine and 5% as a discussion vehicle.

        I use facebook mostly as a friends and family hangout + the new page in an attempt to stir up conversation about blogging / business related items. Not altogether successful yet, but not ready to give up, though I think finding a couple of relevant groups might be better, but the open ones are all spam and I haven’t been invited to any private ones yet.

        I use Google+ as a discovery and discussion engine as well as a launchpad into many of the tools I use on a daily basis, and I communicate lightly with many peers in the webdev sphere there.

        I tried Linked in, but the networking is geared to the corporate world, which turns me off and the groups are a ‘me fest’ filled with bickering, egotistical children which doesn’t help.

        So really right now my mix is G+ facebook, twitter and now clipboard. Each serves a different purpose. Facebook being more the man, G+ more the business, Twitter a blend of the man and the brand and clipboard a place to visually store categorized links to things I need to remember as well as discover others that I might want to remember.

        I’m looking for something with the promise of Quora, but without the baggage of that implementation.

      • And I forgot Empire Avenue. I know you really like that one, but for me it just isn’t working out. Not my style I guess, and too much of a time sink for me. I will probably delete the account soon.

      • No worries. My big thing is that no one can be everywhere. And if EAv not for you, no big deal to me. You see people in places you both want to be, and talk about what you both want to talk about. (what real friends do online) you’re the best, Dane

      • Interesting list Tom. It was a very mixed bag in my limited testing. One link was to a WordPress blog with three posts, 1 of the Hello World. The list also included Ning, which appears to me a competitor with services like Nation Builder. I don’t anyone has any pressing need to visit a site with three posts. I might sort through this list and do a pillar post with a more carefully edited list.

  3. P.S. I had no idea compuserve was anything but a memory.

    P.P.S. Facebook sux – Google+ forever baby!

    P.P.P.S. Yeah, whatever, you know I’m right.

    P.P.P.P.S I actually read something about facebook being good for G+ because it’s like a singularity holding back the people that would ruin G+ if they ever moved over… I like that explanation.

    • well, I have to say I would hardly cry if the tiresome folks all moved on to G+. But I so hope that G+ doesn’t become so ubiquitous that I HAVE to use it. Cuz I sure as heck don’t Want to.

      • By G+, you mean GEnie, right? 🙂

        Oh, Alan, you turned Mr. Everything into a hamster on a wheel in a little circular, multilevel, maze-like Habitrail. That’s a fun game – almost as good as online Truth or Dare!

        I’ll be interested to see how long his sanity holds.

      • Holly…the thing is….I think he may be a true sociopath, of the sort that makes a plain old bipolar/anxiety combo like I have look like….something minor. (confessing I’m a tiny bit frightened)

      • Depends on whether you use other Google tools. If you do, you’ll eventuially use G+ too because it will tie them all together and become a sort of dashboard. They will all work better with it, and you won’t be able to avoid it.

        If you don’t use any of Google’s tools, you don’t need G+. But then you are also depriving yourself of some world class tools.

      • Dane– before they introduced plus I was using three Google services– gmail on my own domain, YouTube and blogspot. I had three different google ID’s and NONE of them could access Plus. Extreme intense frustration. Then when I got their it was just not very appealing to me. Then when there was big flap and some of my Second Life friends had their accounts summarily ejected (because G+ requires your wallet name). I quit in solidarity with the SL crowd. Google has a history of botching social. (I’ve also seen statistics that G+ is still over 70 % male vs Pinterest being over 90% female…..honestly for me and the audiences I’m trying to reach….Pinterest feels like a hugely better bet for me.)

      • Yeah, I don’t care about the real name beef, it’s all I use, so I have no skin in that game. I have a core Google Account for Google products only. I have Apps accounts and the like, and some of them even tied into multi-log-in, but the core account is always logged in because I’m in Webmaster, Analytics, Blogger, Docs, +, maps, picasa, reader, … Daily. For myself and for clients.

  4. There’re too many sites and groups now, I stopped visiting them. Now, I’ll wait for your response to Mr. E, and will only visit those you recommend. Yet, I may not stick around if I don’t like it after brief visit. Step back and step forward.

    • Nicolas,

      Unless you are going to pay me to make a social media plan for your particular needs, I hardly advise you to let ME be your judge of where to visit and how to spend your time. I honestly don’t believe that there are nor can be any “one size fits all” solutions.

      • Well, I’ll not pay you. I’ll ‘pay’ your crowd/reader. I get more when more of your reader comment. I’m not trying to find a one tool that may fit all my need. Instead, I’m trying to find tools that work for different purposes. Something like danemorgan stated.

      • Nicolas,

        My point is that general advice is often not very useful or applicable to your particular needs and goals. I’m not trying to hustle you to hire me….only pointing out that any general advice will never work for everyone.

    • Candace, I think that for most people and for most goals, sticking to a handful of the most popular sites is a #winning social media strategy. Thanks so much for stopping by today.

  5. I had a little conversation with an online friend just before a few minutes.
    I told him that Social media is like an ocean for me. They are a lot of good quality fishes and others useful things in it but just a few rare pearls.

    Yes, to find the few pearls seems to me the most important thing in social media life then to sign in thousends of sites.

    I wish you that you find your rare pearls as your social media contacts.

    Tedora

    • Tedora, I think that an ocean is a very apt description for social media. If someone is genuinely unhappy with any social media site they use, my first advice is always to explore alternatives. It really is true that there are constantly new sites and services starting up, and honestly No One knows which will go on to be the next FB, Twitter, (insert site you really like here).

      • Social media can not make users happy, it can only give some or a lot of joy as added value for daily life and/or help to make that their business grow. If somebody is looking after happiness in his life through social media, this person can get real problems with the time and should check his privat and family life urgent.

        I am using social media first of all for to make my work more public and to get new clients. If I meet in this time persons they get my personal attention, they also can be an offine contact and later friends. Thus I call them my pearls I found in the virtual ocean, better known as social media 😉

        Good morning from Switzerland

        Tedora

      • I honestly believe that there are at least as many reasons for using social networks as there are social networks, if not in fact as many different reasons as there are users. I’m so pleased that most everyone seems to get the point– different tools for different puroposes 🙂

  6. The only thing that’s certain is change. Compuserve and the others you listed never understood that. They failed to innovate and have effectively died.

    • You’re absolutely right about that. After being a user on CompuServe for many years I actually worked for them for awhile. But it seems to me they had grown so fat from being the only way online for 8 bucks an hour and were WAY to slow to adapt to the all you can eat dialup for a reasonable monthly fee which became a generic kind of product until it was largely edged out by broadband.

  7. It seems like an ocean of social media that is sweeping over us lately. I feel like by the time we get into 2015 or so it’s just going to be way to overwhelming, which is why you have to distinguish yourself now before it’s too late to get enough traction. Great write up!

    • Peter, as I mentioned above I think the ocean analogy is spot on. I don’t think it will EVER be too late for a smart newcomer to stumble into social media and build an audience. Honestly…do you think _I_ am paying any price for never having been on MySpace, back when it was huge big freaking deal? (seems to me I am connecting with and building an audience today, and what’s past is prologue)

  8. It took me a long time to move from email listservs (a few of which I still participate in) to discussion forums then to social networks around 2007-8. I don’t care about being somewhere first, I go where there are interesting people to talk to, ones I know and ones I haven’t met yet.

    I remember around 1999 I saw a piece about the 5 stage evolution of discussion groups and it fit my experience to a tee. As soon as some forum becomes popular, people say it’s over and it was so much better before the newcomers arrived. Then people leave and start a competing group or the group revives itself. Facebook & Twitter have just changed things because everyone is in the same place rather than fragmented into niche forums.

    • I mostly agree with what you just said, although I hardly think that niche forums are completely dead. (My huzband is a moderator on a website/forum for a very particular niche….that site will never be a competitor for FB….but Ron and his friends have zero interest in joining FB and Twitter.)

      • Well, like I said, I still participate in some VERY specific Email discussion lists although they don’t have the vitality that they had in the 90s where would be debates that lasted a week and involve thousands of messages. Oh, those were the days. ; )

    • Anne, I don’t think anybody who can’t put a 60 hour week in at the computer with no other deadlines could possibly handle more than a large handful of sites. I think I need to be clear that it actually IS a good thing to register your handle on every new site and put up some kind of profile pic and a link to wherever you’d most prefer new contacts to contact you online. (and obviously you can have scads of those kinds of profiles scattered around). If what your doing suits your purposes, then I would say you are doing social media Exactly Right 🙂

  9. This is great! I can really appreciate what you’re saying here. It seems that with so many new startups coming every month, if we tried to be on all of them, it would be all-consuming. I’m limiting myself to 4-5 networks as far as even having a presence. Beyond that, my activity is focused on only 3.

    Yeah, I can remember Compuserve back in the 90’s. (Now, when mentioning it to my son, he says “what is that?”)

    Thanks again for sharing. Great post!

    • yep. Someday I feel certain I will be the only person left alive who remembers using a 300 baud chat room. Thanks so much for stopping by and for your comment, Cole.

  10. Many marketers do not fully understand the power in combining blogging with social networking. The two go hand in hand and are a match made in heaven, as far as I am concerned. However, the issue is this, WHAT social sites should you be using? The easy answer is stick with whats hot! Go where the traffic is. Empire Avenue is a great place to start and to manage your social activity.

    • Miss Danni, it seems to me the those who are trying to be everywhere at once are not especially adept at marketing. (Then too anyone who has ever hung out in marketing communities knows that there’s most always a Lot of that going around.) Mr. E is definitely NOT a blogger….he doesn’t notice when someone links to him and it is possible he actually pays “administrative expenses” to writers in low wage countries to write his blog posts. He doesn’t have any comments on his blog, because he says “Conversation is for Facebook”. His blog, like all of his social media profiles is relatively new. So far with the way back machine I can’t find anywhere he was online before 2008. At least not under the “wallet name” he uses these days.

  11. It seems like each new industry blossoms into a lot of offerings, then settles into a dominant one and supporters. Socnets now have several platforms and a lot of interest groups and apps. Would like to know the unique capabilities of each and how they can be utilized in appropriate niches. So new offerings are worth trying out.

    • John, I completely agree that the only constant is change. I know (unless I my demise proves unfortunately soon) that I will live to see the day that FB or Twitter seems as passe as MySpace does today. I am most likely to check out a new site or service if it is recommended by a friend I trust (rather than a FB freind from the social media rock stars club)

      • Since people are friending brand accounts which provide interactivity on socnets, these can also make recommendations about eachother. These may know a lot about the buying patterns of individuals as well as profiles, e.g. what people of a similar situation and demographic tend to want and do. The question becomes how to identify unique personal preferences.

      • LOL at the My__ mention, Alan. A friend sent me a link to the old Did You Know? video which Sony shared at their annual shareholder meeting a couple of years ago. 200 Million My__ users? I think it’s down to the last 50 or so die hards and lots of band profiles at this stage.

      • I have a friend who is a semi-professional DJ and MySpace continues to be of some use to him. But if you’re not a professional musician/aspiring band/DJ member of that niche….YOU definitely don’t need to be there anymore. I can’t repeat it enough I don’t think– there can never be one right answer for everyone. And for most folks it really shouldn’t be about trying to juggle 12 networks but about finding three or four that Really suit your specific purpose.

  12. Nice Post. It will be real interesting to see where we are 5 years from now. Just look at the changes from five years ago. The main difference now is that you have a large percentage of people on some sites that have a magnetic effect. It doesn’t mean a platform doesn’t have to keep innovating, but it will be cause the newcomers to have to be even more differentiated.

    • Steve, you make an excellent point that we now have platforms that are achieving levels of popularity and ubiquity that would have been unthinkable back in the day. And I also think it bears pointing out that in some niches (those who create comics, comix or graphic novels are a good example) there are specialty sites devoted to your niche that can be FAR more useful than trying to find your school of fish in the huge FB/Twitter oceans.

  13. Think most angles have been covered – especially about how sites move in and move out of popularity.

    500 seems a HUGE number but I would not claim to be able to give a better guess and as start-ups can go from 0-100s of thousands within days, I am sure there are more to come. They certainly have to be quite special even for me to look at them nowadays.

    • Steve– if the 500 you are referring to is the list that I mentioned I used to have, I assure you that there were 500+ social networks listed. There are a lot more people online than the English speakers from first world countries who are most of the contacts for most of the people in my circles. Living in Spain, you probably know (or did you explain that you ARE?) local/national online communities that those living in, say, Taiwan might never have any interest or need to know about. Think of all of the countries out there. Then maybe take a look at all of the blog categories on Blog Catalog. I’m certain the list of 500 that I had was only a sampling of all that are out there. And an social media manager who tells you before he knows your niche and your goals that all you need is to be in these three places. Is a bloody amateur.

  14. There is a general thought at Empire Avenue that communities will generally last 10 years and then “die”. It will be interesting to see what comes in the next few years, and will Facebook actually last longer, it seems to have caught more imaginations than anything we have ever seen before….

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, Ric. It’s good to know the guys behind the curtain at EAv have thought through the lifecycles of social media. And yes, FB is huge…but in their times, most all of the sites above were or seemed about to become just as a big a deal as FB is now.

  15. I was a Compuserve Sysop back in the day. When I think about it, I got more gigs out of those early forums than I’ve gotten out of Facebook and Twitter combined!

    • Which forums or areas did you serve in? (when I realized that sysops were being “paid” only in not being billed the 8 bucks an hour to be online, I realized that I NEVER wanted to be a sysop)

      • I doubt our paths crossed back then. I hung out in the Issues forum and made boatloads of friends Some of whom I still chat with on Facebook from time to time. Thanks so much for stopping by and for commenting.

  16. LOL. Thinking along the lines of Steve Martin’s character in The Jerk, “This is all I need. This stapler right here, and this FB account and twitter. That’s it. And maybe Pinterest and Google + and Scoop.It. But that’s all I need. Oh, and for my dance friends, Vimeo and You Tube. But that’s really it. Well, maybe tumblr where I am most comfortable and have 15 feeds. But that’s all I need. I don’t need any of the rest of these social media sites. I can just walk away….”

    On a serious note. As Mr. Everything? It’s nice to see someone trying to adopt to so much that even “The Jerk” appears to be brilliant.

  17. There’s maybe two dozen social platforms I use with any frequency – and to cover all of them, “frequency” would have to mean I used all of them over any given fortnight (I do love the word fortnight!).

    To me, each has such a specific type of use that to think of them as all mandatory would make them a chore instead of useful and natural tools. Each platform can easily flow for the right situation and have a forced feeling for others.

    I think it’s a jack of all trades master of none situation for some of these social media rockstars – WHOOPS I meant gurus WHOOPS I meant – well, Alan knows what I mean 😉

    • Grace, it’s such a genuine joy to meet you and chat with you here and there. I wonder if you might be willing to chat privately about what those 14 tools are….an interview that I could make into a blog post, maybe promote you, your site, your causes a bit?

  18. I got sucked into entrecard a few years ago and had two of them for my blogs and got a lot of traffic and was spending lots of time doing it and then one day just deleted it.

    I forgot all about that site. I thought it got sold?

    • The site is still up there. Whether it still operated by @GrahamLangdon (the megalomania director who seemed to go out of his way to alienate his user community) I don’t know. And honestly, if visit a blog these days and see an Entrecard widget….my first thought is “how three years ago”: My second thought is usually :”do I really want to be Here?”

  19. Love where you went with the lifecycle approach of internet sites.. I think there is more digging to it thou if you really want to bite the cake instead of licking the frosting if you know what I mean. =)

  20. 500 Social Networks. I now i’m going out on a limb, but 500 networks is too many. I think most have their 3-5 they hit daily/regularly, and sprinkle in a few more over the course of the week. I’m a sucker for just about any beta site that recently became active. Time management is pivotal in this world.

    • Steve, I completely agree No one could productively use 500 social networking sites. Although I would argue that in some niches, some folks would be much better served focusing much of their effort on a specialty social network. And any social media manager who doesn’t know that….is an amateur 🙂

  21. There is such a thing as too much of a good thing. I love social media, even built parts of my business around it. However, I pick and choose the ones I like best, am most comfortable with and get the most benefit from. I just can’t be everywhere at once. :p

    • Yes, you’re right Majdi. In some ways Mr. E is like a kid in a candy store— so amazed by all the delicious treats that he can’t figure out which three or four he will buy and eat.

  22. I think one’s interest can shift over time depending on where one’s friends or customers or contacts are, and on the current popularity or effectiveness of a platform, The conversation continues and it is one’s overall web presence rather than any one social media platform that defines you. Best of course is to maintain one central website and domain as your own personal brand and focus. All the others are secondary.

  23. And a shout and thank you to Tom (e)FEEDTHEWORLD (@99_100thMonkeys) who just made the 900th comment on this blog. My sincerest thanks to everyone who has commented so far, and please feel free to keep the comments coming.

      • lmao, Tom. I having SO much fun tonight, batting around ideas with old and new friends. I can’t honestly say I don’t care that all of these comments will give my WP score on EAv a nice little boost tomorrow….but if that were the Only reason I was doing this….I’d never have gotten this many comments.

  24. Hi, just wanted to put my 2 cents worth, I too am selective with which social media platform i engage with and frankly i am not much of a fan to place information on my whereabouts or doings. Frankly, I choose where and when i would like information like that be released. I did start a blog but have not found the inspiration to follow it through as it would mean added hours sitting in front of the computer, which i neither have the pleasure or extravagance of time to do so, so all inn all I am happy doing what i am doing but i got to admit that i have connected with some very fine people from Social Media…lots of fun people around…cheers…have a wonderful week ahead :)..sorry for the babbling..

    • Geoffrey, I love to write and have time to do it and blogging on WP dot com, in this personal/social networking/blogging/living with bi-polar niche is PERFECT for me. But honestly, if you’re not passionate about your blog. Don’t bother. In terms of marketing (you, your biz, brand, career, etc) blogging is neither necessary or desirable.

  25. Hi Alan, do you think the fictional Mr E.Go is reading this fictional blog and all the fictional comments from all the fictional people? While you’re drumming an answer to my fictional question may I have a piece of that gorgeous fictional cake while I’m here? lol Gaye ..
    PS, great read!

    • No, Gaye, I don’t think that Mr. E reads this blog. You are most welcome to a slice of the Boston Cream Pie. But please get it now– I will be changing the pic soon.

  26. Pingback: Psssst– Over there today! | Libdrone's Thoughts and Musings

  27. Even if I had to wake up at 2am to get ready to go to work i would still somehow find time to spend quality time on social networks. To me its the best stress buster. Liking, poking, commenting, meeting connecting with people — makes me forget all my troubles for just some time. But ofcourse cannot play in all actively but some sure as hell.

  28. Alan, I’ve gone through that phase too of chasing after the shiny objects in the web in the past. Now, I’m focusing only on a few sites and really trying to connect with people and be more than a casual online acquaintance to them hopefully . I fully agree with you that it’s the relationships that count more than the new venues that come and go online. To close this comment with a non sequitor: Why do I always feel hungry after reading your blog?

    • Shiny objects. (remembering Lord of the Rings– my precious!) That’s really a very good description. I actually wasted Years chasing traffic and celebrating an every increasing Google Page Rank, without ever stopping to wonder just what benefit I got from having a lot of blog traffic, most of which just breezed in once a day to click a shiny gold bar on a widget, and never read or commented on my posts because they weren’t there to read my posts in the first place. Shiny objects. You can’t waste Years I tell you.

  29. Wow, I’m blown away by the length of this conversation and it is its length that is a perfect explanation of the complicated nature of social networking. Connecting on a virtual level littered with so man choices is confusing for most people. Attempting to trek their minds into the bowels of social often leads to retreat and then when they do come back it consists of minimal engagement. You don’t hear many conversations about those who have left never to come back or those who never attempted it in the first place. And on that note I won’t finish my thought.

    • Craig, I am blown away at all these comments. 36 hours after publishing the post there are already more than 100 comments and I keep talking and more replies keep coming in and I am getting tired 🙂 I think that all real success in social media comes from making real connections with other real people. And while sometimes you certainly benefit from speaking with them publicly and in groups…ultimately a great deal of it speaking to people one on one, one at a time. And there really isn’t an algorithm for that 🙂

  30. Maintaining an online group is a real challenge. Mr. E is going to spread himself too thinly. Trying to be all things to all people is not a good business strategy, and it’s not an effective social media strategy either.

    • All I can say Wayne is that I am going to continue to write a fictional story about Mr. E. And I ask all my readers and friends to remember and keep in mind, that this is just a story, like Peter Pan or Lord of the Rings. Any resemblance to my actual Facebook friends is purely coincidental. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting, Wayne.

  31. I like twitter the best because you can talk to another person without having to be in a circle like google+. Facebook you have to like the page, do a friend request or subscribe in order to post comments. I have also checked out The Live Social and to me it’s complicated and hard to get around even though it’s a cross between twitter and facebook. Another one is Yearbook and it’s primarily based on dating and games which i’m not really fond of. I do have facebook which is primarily used for friends and family and also keeping track of birthday’s. I have tried to use blog’s, but that doesn’t work to good when I’m only using my phone (which I use Opera Mini) since I don’t have a computer. I’m also not able to view videos on my phone so I stay away from youtube.

    • John, you just posted the 100th comment in this thread. Thank you so much. I certainly agree that Twitter is so useful because lots of folks use it from their phones on the go. (on the other hand I have like 16 columns in my tweetdeck 😉 Do you use FaceBook on your phone?

  32. Pingback: A Cat With A Mouse | Libdrone's Thoughts and Musings

  33. Pingback: U+2159 OR 241543903 | Libdrone's Thoughts and Musings

  34. Wow! I think this is the longest comment thread I have ever seen – in tribute to one of the most interesting (and important) posts. Thank-you Alan for reminding this that we do need to spring clean and edit from time to time or risk being swamped 🙂

Leave a Reply

