Crowdsourcing, Grammar Nazis and Haggis

I’ve long suspected that one has to be a real Scotsman to enjoy haggis.   Certainly I am not the only person I’ve ever met who has found even the idea of  a sausage made from sheep’s heart and liver mixed with oatmeal and onions to be frankly repulsive.    Not that I have anything against my Scottish friends, mind you. Certainly I have many times enjoyed attending our local Highlands Festival where the people watching (think big red-headed guys,  sometimes wearing their kilts regimental style) is always a highlight.   I’ve long wanted to visit Scotland,  and some time ago even blogged about Scottish cookbooks.   But haggis?   Meh.

I woke up at a reasonable hour this morning,  but I woke up dog tired.   I still have a bit of a sleep deficit owing I’m afraid.   I’ve long known that crowd sourcing is a hugely useful tool for bloggers,  so when I couldn’t seem to get my befuddled brain to come up with a topic for this post,  I turned to Empire Avenue missions to pick the brains of a few friends.   Liz Pullen made a great suggestion:

@libdrone Grammar Nazis: Purists nobly perserving a language or just people who enjoy finding fault and correcting others?

Had I been more fully awake,  I might well have gone with that one.   While I try so hard not to be a grammar Nazi myself,  I really do care about speaking and writing correctly.  (Although I also acknowledge that language is a living thing,  constantly evolving to meet the needs of those who use it.) Much as I genuinely liked the topic,   I just didn’t think I could wax eloquent about it for four hundred words today.   My friend Mandy it turned out had the #winning idea:

@libdrone – worst onscreen couples ever? Strangest wedding ceremonies? The benefits of haggis in your daily diet? I’m grasping here…

This was I knew what I needed to write about.    With Nazis and haggis in my title this post is sure to do great with search engines.   It also provided multiple opportunities to link to some of my older blog posts.  Best of all,   writing this post helped me to realize a bit of the zen of personal blogging.   Like comedian Jerry Seinfeld said of his long running television show,  it’s a blog about nothing in particular.  (Or like my friend Holly,  who refers to her specialty as the “no niche niche”.)   I have to say that I’ve found so much freedom in being able to write about whatever I feel like each day.   And I’ve also re-learned the core lesson that just being yourself is the best way to reach an audience online.

33 comments on “Crowdsourcing, Grammar Nazis and Haggis

  1. Yes you need to be a certain type of person to eat haggis but there are other “interesting” foods that I’d walk across the road to avoid – tripe, larva bread, octopus, Brussels sprouts and ……..

    The …….. is Marmite (called Vegemite) in Australia and is a disgusting mixture of tastes – think projectile xxxxx and an xxxx discharge. That’s my prejudiced view ….yet others love it

    As we say in Spanish, “What cures one man, kills another”. Personally I’d prefer death to haggis or Marmite!

    • I don’t care for any of those other foods you mentioned, although if you cook them in bacon I will eat Brussels sprouts. (The things we do for bacon 😉 But I’m totally with you on death before haggis or Marmite.

  2. I have shared this far and wide, hither and yon. I do it not for the fame. Not for the adulation. I do it because you said “do the button dance”, and for me. .. Well that cracked me right the heck up! Thanks for the shout out! It made my day!

  3. Good discussion. I always try to find topics relevant, so that someone could read and comment my blog posts. Beginning from today, I’ll go through Facebook groups to see any topics I should write. Thanks.

    • Scouring social networks for topic ideas is not a bad plan. I do think though that it’s important to write about things that interest you and to find an original slant on them. Thanks so much for stopping by today, Nicolas.

  4. I definitely lost my appetite !! Thanks for your fun and humor 🙂 Have a super evening & yes I did the button dance 🙂

    • Ooops. I apologize for costing you your appetite, Anne. Thanks so much for doing the button dance for me. (I think I’m going to have to do a blog post about button dancing) Hee hee.

    • Hello Liz,
      Small world. We meet again online. Yesterday at SMAC and now on the Libdrone blog. How did you enjoy the event? Did you know that Basil Puglisi, the creator/coordinator was listed the TOP Influencer yesterday for all of Social Media Week. He topped a VERY impressive list of pros and companies. We at DigitalBrandMarketing.com are so proud and excited. Good to see you again.
      Sincerely,
      Alison Gilbert

  5. My Grandpa who loved chitterlings taught me to love collards. I stink up the house cooking collards each Thanksgiving and everyone bitches about the smell, but the collards get devoured in spite of the protests. I agree Vegemite is putrid and haggis is only for those who lust for thrift and recycling putrefaction. We are all closet Nazis confessing the sins of others with self righteous indignation, so there.

  6. I was raised by a grammar Nazi. Before i could turn in any homework, no matter the subject, out would come my dads red ink pen…. *shivers* 😀

    • oh my! Your father corrected your home work with red pen before you turned it in. (So that if he found a mistake you had to do it over??). That doesn’t seem right to me. (OTOH, you write well 🙂

  7. Hi Librone,
    I did not recognize the round shaped sausage surround by kale on a plate atop a Royal Stewart tartan cloth. But somehow the explanation that it is haggis did not repulse me. In fact, I was curious to try it. I have a fascination for food and Scotland.

    I have not been to Scotland, yet but I do like food of all types. I can count on one hand (five fingers) what I will not eat. Uh oh, they are mostly organ meats. But I will try almost anything once.

    Thanks for the post. I have to admit, the photo is what drew me in. I had to know what that weird shaped thing was on the plate. And I love tartan plaids too.

  8. I’ve come to believe that haggis is the contrapuntual thread bait equivalent of bacon. Bacon is very widely loved and even vegans will post in a thread about bacon, even if they would never eat it. Haggis is widely abhored and it seems to me that talking about haggis often draws a small but vociferous band of Scotsmen and haggis lovers and droves of folks who just have to weigh in to say EEEEEEEWWWW.

  9. Hello! Ahhh Haggis! I can recall a scene from a comedy called, Dharma & Greg and Dharma had a very funny way to describe Haggis. Well, I found it funny back then, not sure if I’d still find it funny haha.

    As for being a Grammar Nazi, I can be pretty harsh towards myself when it comes to the Dutch & English language. I do my best to speak and write it as correctly as possible ^_^

    I want pie now.

  10. Hah!! You’ve throw the gauntlet at her, haven’t you? Holly’s going to LOVE hearing she’s got competition for the “no niche niche” – it didn’t take THIS much taunting to get her to cook and eat balut on YouTube! Haggis! All hail the Mighty Haggis! (She’s over there muttering something about not being able to get all the parts. I’m betting between the local Whole Foods, Central Market, Asian Market, and some pseudo-Brit local pub, she’ll manage it. Maybe we should just taunt her some more, eh, Alan?)

Leave a Reply

