Wha ‘sup?

One

‘sup.    My wonderful friend Tom Cooley showed me how to make a superscript number in WordPress.  I actually do understand how tags work in HTML and have been known to occasionally venture away from the visual editor and actually edit just a bit of HTML to accomplish some thing or other that I couldn’t quite manage in the visual editor.     And it turns out that the tag  “sup”  (don’t try to display braces in a blog post– it can be done but it’s a huge pita) is the key to creating superscript numbers.2

I have been trying to learn more about WordPress.com.    In many ways it is the same as the self-hosted WordPress I’ve been using for years now,  although there are some differences.  There are also a number of community aspects that are unique to WP.com which simply don’t apply to self-hosted blogs.   I have figured out how to specify the blog you use the most as your “primary” blog,  which I believe (though do not know for a fact) matters a great deal to how Empire Avenue computes your WordPress.com score.

I have one Empire Avenue acquaintance whose WP.com  icon on his EAv profile connects to a WP error page that says  “This blog has been suspended to a violation of our Terms Of Service”.    His EAv WP score is 5.   My own WP icon on EAv remains connected to my  book review blog,  even though I changed my primary blog to this one.  (Click here for instructions  if you want to try that.)  And while both my primary and secondary blogs have hundreds of posts and hundreds of comments  AND thanks to Empire Avenue missions  I have been getting lots of traffic,  lots of shares and a pretty high number of comments on this blog,  my WP.com score remains….2.3

Clearly,  I don’t yet understand how Empire Avenue is scoring the WordPress.com  connections.   And somehow I don’t think it would improve Walking Down The Avenue a great deal to add a new section that says  “after careful observation,  in as much as I can tell,   the scores seem to be assigned pretty much at random”.    Part of me is really enjoying this new personal blog,  and the freedom to write every day about pretty much whatever the heck I darned well feel like.    But the part of me that really wants to get the book updated and a new release published…kind of just wants to scream.

1–this first foot note is purely decorative, and has no function whatsoever.

2–this second foot note is also purely decorative,  though it was thrilling to me to be putting in a second superscript number,  no sweat.

3–this final foot note is a bitter dose of irony

Update:  It occurred to me to disconnect my WP.com from Empire Avenue and reconnect it.  And choose the correct blog on reconnecting.   We’ll see how that works out.

18 comments on “Wha ‘sup?

  1. Cool! What plugin are you using for your share bar? I need to add one! I am a joomla lover, so I am a bit lost with WP. Thanks! Kim

    • I don’t want to pay for hosting at this time. I have done self-hosted WP in the past but it’s just not in my budget right now. (Also I am wanting to learn more about WP.com because I’ve heard SO much about the value of WP.com’s community aspects.

    • What’s so great about WordPress I think is that if you don’t know any HTML at all, it doesn’t matter. And if you do know HTML you can use it as much or as little as you feel like.

    • I disconnected WP.com from Empire Avenue and when I reconnected it, it allowed me to specify which of my WP.com blogs I wanted to connect. (still confused but working on it)

  2. Isn’t it great, I try to learn something new everyday, and on empireavenue I learn something new from my friends all the time. People are so nice and willing to share, But I don’t think any of us have quite figured out the mysteries of how the ea squirrel figures things 🙂

  3. I wish I knew how EaV scored blogs. I can only assume they give you credit for posts and comments. Maybe we need an Occupy EaV’s formulas as it seems like 90% of the formula’s are in less than 1% of the people’s hands.

    • Well, EAv intentionally keeps the formulas a secret to prevent gaming the system. I just want to understand what I can do to raise my score. (Not to mention why a blog that’s not even online has a higher score than my blog that seems to be doing well.)

  4. In the first few weeks, my WordPress score is always 1, even though I blog everyday. I realize that the setting maybe wrong. After adjusting my setting and reconnect, my WordPress score is 14. Be patient and learn.

Leave a Reply

