That Darned Asterisk (OR Of Lions and LIONS)

I never really liked footnotes.   Sometimes instructors could be quite picky about them and more than once I came almost to tears over a style guide trying to figure out just what details about the information source needed to be typed in at the bottom of that page next to the superscript number (created by turning the typewriter platen half a line down).   I am not in fact techno butch enough to know how to place superscript numbers in a blog post.   Though every now and then I do place an asterisk if I have some little tid bit to add at the bottom of a post.

One of the most frustrating mistakes one could make in the footnote category,  back in the days when one typed papers on typewriters  (largely obsolescent devices which used embossed metal strikers to imprint ink on paper,  one letter at a time), was to come to the end of a page and realize that you have forgotten to include a footnote.  You might be able to get away with doing end notes instead,  particularly if you had not previously on any other pages inserted a footnote.   But if that was not an option,  it would in fact be necessary to type that entire page over again to fix the error.    Current technology that made typewriters obsolete,  and brought about such improvements as the Backspace key,  automatic footnote entry and automatic pagination  robs me of any excuse for omitting a foot note to correspond to the asterisk I placed next to the term LIONS in yesterday’s post.

My huzband is in fact “a lion”.     I honestly don’t fully understand myself exactly what that means.   If you’re curious I’m afraid you would have to ask Ron yourself.   When I mentioned that my friend Holly is NOT a “LION”  I meant that she is not a  Linked In Open Networker.    I don’t use Linked In.    I never liked it and when it was pointed out to me that my profile on that site  (upon which I had never expended any great effort) kind of, well,   really sucked,   I thought about it for all of a minute,  then removed my profile from Linked In.   It goes back to the discussion I am having with Michael the last few weeks.   I don’t think it’s possible  for anyone to be on every social site out there.   And I definitely think that not having a profile on a particular site is infinitely preferable to having a lousy profile.  (see Hello World)   Linked In LIONS are known around social media as the original instigators of the Open Networking movement,  which pretty much prescribes connecting with everyone you meet on every network you’re on.   Honestly,   I get tired just typing about it.

In any event,  I hope you will forgive me for first omitting this footnote from yesterday’s post and then for turning a one sentence explanation into a 500 word blog post.    (A free form journal really is a lot easier than a blog that tries to stick to a precise niche.)   I hope that this finds you having or having just had a good Hump Day Wednesday.    And thank you so much for stopping by.

22 comments on “That Darned Asterisk (OR Of Lions and LIONS)

  1. You are exactly right! Many of us enthusiastically register on LOTS of social media sites, but eventually wish that we could remember our passwords so that we could go delete some of our accounts! The enticement of each new site, though, is that you never know until you try it…..!

    • You’re absolutely right there, Lindy. You really will never know until you try. I am very quick to try, and I will have to be the first to admit very slow to remove old accounts when I stop using a particular site. (And of course there are no doubt tons of accounts that I created just to check something out and never bothered to set up a profile and will never get around to manually taking down. Though eventually of course most of the sites will fail and my info won’t really be out there anymore.) Thanks so much for stopping by today, Lindy.

  2. Having graduated h.s. in the…um…well the late 80’s, I totally remember the typing and all it’s issues. UGH!

    I can’t stand all these social sites. It’s overwhelming and ends up taking time away from my blog, which is the reason I joined only 3 sites in the first place. Now I have 7 and rarely do anything with them but “like” a post if someone asks. Yeah, it’s a waste of time. I need to go delete those puppies. 🙂

    Sharon from EA
    http://sharon-moms-madhouse.com

  3. “And I definitely think that not having a profile on a particular site is infinitely preferable to having a lousy profile.” Agree. Which reminds me to take down some of mine on sites I’ll probably never visit again in a million years.

    • imho, cleaning up old social media profiles that you don’t have the time or interest to keep up with anymore is something that you should do from time to time (although it’s debatable if you Should delete a profile on a site you no longer frequent but have made a lot of contributions to in the past). Hope this article was helpful to you.,

  4. Having graduated h.s. in the uh…late 80’s, *ahem* I totally remember all the typing and it’s many issues. UGH…so glad that’s over. Remember the white out strips?

    I hate all these social networking sites. It’s overwhelming and distracts from my blogging, which is why I only joined 3 in the first place. Now I belong to 7 and I only use the others since my blogging buddies want me to share their blogs, or someone wants me to like something. You’re right, better not to have one then a lame one. Time to go delete those puppies 🙂

    Sharon from EA
    http://sharon-moms-madhouse.com

    • Liz,

      You’re one of the first “social networking professionals” I’ve met who has a real sense of humor about it all. In my heart of heart I kind of think the guy I’m having this discussion with is Never going to get my point. But I am having so much fun and meeting so many wonderful new people, that I honestly don’t care. Hope your week is going well, Liz.

  5. I was a LION 5 years ago. Now, I moved from In to the open: Twitter, Facebook, Chime.in and so on. I’ll try everything but only keep those I could understand.

    • I hope I’ve made clear I am not at all against trying new things, and seeing what works best for you. But I hope I can make it clear that it just isn’t possible for anyone to be Everywhere. Thanks so much for stopping by today, TC.

  6. I agree managing many sites is challenging. However Linkedin is one I have in my keep list. Sorry- I am a fan. It really all depends on your needs and what kind of engagement you are looking for or where your audience gather. For me LI has been an excellent business network and resource. I have never been a LION – I like to have some criteria for connecting even if is a simple one.

    • Honestly, Shirley, I have nothing against LinkedIn. If it works well for you, I completely urge you to use it and to connect it to your Empire Avenue account so that your EAv account, just like a page on Xeeme can allow someone to see where all you are and to connect with you on the networks where it suits Them to do so. I’m not a LION either. I admit that sometimes I accept friend requests more out of a sense that it is politic to do so than because I am genuinely interested in them. However, since Facebook now allows you to Un-Subscribe from someone without unfriending, I totally control who gets to contribute their input to my time (line).

  7. I have a problem wanting to type something most of the time especially when it’s new. But you did a super job on this post and I do Like it very much:) Thanks for typing it!

    • Well, Donald, I will certainly be the first to say that writer’s block is all too often a case of too much err lead in the derriere but I have certainly experienced it myself (and helped so many other writers to deal with it) that I know that “just not wanting to type today” really can be a huge problem. Thanks so much for stopping by today.

Leave a Reply

