Crayfish Etouffee

I am SO not a photographer.    I honestly haven’t a clue why big black bands appear on either end of my photo– actually I do;  it seems that the automatic lens cover failed to completely open.    I also don’t know why it appears the plate I served it on is Very dusty along the right hand edge.  (I assure you I serve food only on clean plates.)

Despite my failures photographic,  the crayfish etouffee (it annoys me that squiggly red spell checker never accepts this correctly spelled word) was absolutely delicious.  And it is in fact quite easy to make:

1 pound peeled crayfish tails   (I discovered that my local Walmart carries these.)

2 bunches  green onions  (scallions)

2 TBSP tomato paste

1 cup chicken stock

1 TBSP butter

1 TBSP corn starch

Saute the green onions in butter in a skillet.   After about five minutes when the onions have become tender,  add the tomato paste and stir thoroughly.    Add the chicken stock and stir some more.   Then add the crayfish tails.   Season to taste.  (I use a little salt and pepper and a dash or two of Tony Chacherie’s Cajun seasoning.)

Just before serving,  combine the corn starch with a a cup or so of water.   Stir to dissolve then mix the slurry into the etouffee.   Simmer a few minutes more and serve over rice.

If your Walmart or grocery store doesn’t have crayfish tails,  you can substitute shrimp.

Bon Appetit!

By Libdrone Posted in Uncategorized Tagged ,

3 comments on “Crayfish Etouffee

  1. Pingback: Approach Every Day As An Experiment | Libdrone's Thoughts and Musings

Leave a Reply

